Library Books 2 Go

library2go-logoMy love-affair with all things Portland, Oregon – started most likely at conception, and only grew stronger at birth. I can honestly say that there is nowhere else on earth I would rather be.

My city/state is too evenly matched to my personality for me to ever consider leaving. Except, you know, I have. Considered leaving. And there is one thing that would drive me away from the 503 faster than I care to admit.

And that is the overwhelming need to get a MLS from an accredited school. PSU hosts a Kansas school on their campus – but that would mean another $40,000 in student loans . So, the alternative is to move up to Washington – obtain residency there, and chop at least $20,000 off my loan block.

I’m sort of waiting until I can get a few thousand paid down on my current student loans. Just for good measure.

In the interim – I get to play around in the Multnomah County Library system, and fall in love with gems like the one I discovered yesterday…Library2Go .

This is just one example of how libraries are flexing to meet the digital age, and doing so successfully. They’ve anticipated people’s desires to download audio files and play them on their iPods. It’s not longer simple enough to check out a book.

You need to download that shit.

Which is what I’m doing this morning. Not to my iPod, just onto my compy so I can burn it and play it in my car on my way up to Olympia Washington. I also have the ACTUAL BOOK – The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay – on hold at the library…but I need something to keep my awake on the road this morning. And it only took me 15 minutes to download, burn the CD’s – and hit the open road.

Technology never ceases to amaze me.

Much Love, Mindy C

Tags: , , , , , ,

About tinyheroes

Mindy Crouchley is a 33 year old woman with a degree in English and Technical Writing from Portland State University. She has accumulated three+ years experience in the Marketing and Communications field - with an emphasis on creating digital media content. She has been reading comic books since she was 10 years old. She currently lives in outer southeast Portland with her spouse Dan Robertson, her baby girl, and their dog - Jabba the pug. She spends her free time devouring books, crafting cosplay, video gaming, attending comic cons, writing stories/screenplays, attending book to film adaptation club meetings, volunteering, and watching copious amounts of TV and movies.

Leave a Reply

