Alas, Poor Yorick.

If you were the last man on earth…

Never has this phrase been answered so completely and uniquely by – well – anything.

While the “last man on earth” topic has been explored by movies and I think – an episode of the Twilight Zone, as far as I know, this is a somewhat unique plot-line for the comic world.

Except for this book.

I was hooked from the first two pages. Here’s the thing – I love comic books. I do. But I don’t often get “hooked.” I am intrigued, attracted, entertained. But never really hooked.

HERE’S A BIT ON HOW THIS STARTED…

A few months ago, Dan and I purchased a two year subscription to Wizard magazine. This was quite a commitment for us, strangely enough. I remember sitting on the couch, on the lap-top – thinking – well, that means we have to stay someplace for two years, right?

For some reason, it wasn’t occurring to me that we purchased a Condo. We sort of have to stay someplace for two years.

Anywho…so I’ve been reading up in Wizard on this series called “Y: The Last Man” – how it was coming to a close and the writer was Brian K. Vaughn, of “Runaways” fame (which I’ve read a few of). He recently did a short stint on Buffy that I really enjoyed. And the artist is Pia Guerra – a female comic book artist. Yet another morsel to pique my interest. Sooooo – I placed the first four books on hold at the library, and put this series in the back of my mind. Mostly because the hold list was like 50 people deep.

It’s been all I can do to avoid reading things about it in Wizard – or on boards. Especially since the final issue was released January 2008. People just can’t wait to talk about the ending.

After reading the first five issues in Book 1 – I can honestly say I’m totally hooked. It’s an end of the world schtick (one of my faves) involving a weird deadly plague (another of my faves!) and a monkey (I love monkies!). Weird end of the world plague with monkey = Mindy happiness.

And the writing is kick-fucking-ass! The art isn’t half bad either.

My dilemma now is that I have Book 1 (read it) and Book 3 (not read it). Book 2 is still about FOURTEEN holds away from being mine. Should I just buy the thing? I can already guess I’m going to love the series, and really want to own it. I’m feeling super impatient because – like I mentioned earlier – I’m hooked.

I’ve also heard (as with most popular/good comic nowadays) – there’s going to be a movie. Don’t get too excited though, the IMDB page doesn’t look promising.

My vote is for Shia Lebouf as Yorick, totally and completely. And 2010 would be a better release date – let Shia age a little more to convincingly play a college graduate.

Please don’t let this film stall in movie hell. The concept, the characters – everything I’ve read thus far – it’s too good for that.

I know I’m hopping on the bandwagon about two years AFTER the rest of the known world, but here I am world. Dammit. I’m lettin my freak flag fly. Me and this guy.

Much Love, Mindy C

Tags: , , , , , ,

About tinyheroes

Mindy Crouchley is a 33 year old woman with a degree in English and Technical Writing from Portland State University. She has accumulated three+ years experience in the Marketing and Communications field - with an emphasis on creating digital media content. She has been reading comic books since she was 10 years old. She currently lives in outer southeast Portland with her spouse Dan Robertson, her baby girl, and their dog - Jabba the pug. She spends her free time devouring books, crafting cosplay, video gaming, attending comic cons, writing stories/screenplays, attending book to film adaptation club meetings, volunteering, and watching copious amounts of TV and movies.

2 responses to “Alas, Poor Yorick.”

  1. Michael says :

    Yes, buy it! I’m one of those people that you talked about who couldn’t wait to talk about the finale, I hope I didn’t ruin it for you. Don’t look back into the archives of my blog.

    Seriously, though, it’s one of the best comic books I’ve ever read in my life. Buy it. You’ll never regret spending that money.

  2. tinyheroes says :

    Hhrmm – I will probably have to buy it at some point. I remembered how I was cheating the system last year with my two library cards, and decided to hit up another library system in town.

    They can get me the books MUCH faster. 🙂 But yes – this will go on my “To Buy” list for shizzle. I got Dan reading it too, but he’s not as hooked as I am. I wonder if it’s the feminist overtones that are so compelling to me? Who knows…

    Are there any other BK Vaughn books you suggest? I’ve been toying with the idea of picking up 100 Bullets – do you know much about this title?

    Hope you are doing well!

    Much Love, Mindy C

Leave a Reply

