The Big One

I posted a week ago about the oh-600-or-so smallish earthquakes rumbling off the Oregon Coast. Now here’s an article telling me that an earthquake slated to register 9.0 on the richter scale is a-comin’. Makes me think I should really look into getting that home-owner’s insurance we’ve been putting off.

BTW – that’s bigger than the one predicted for Northern California, in case you were wondering. Our predicted earthquake is about the size and impact of the 2004 Indian Ocean Earthquake/Tsunami.

But don’t take my word for it.

It’s sad to think that my beloved Oregon Coast is in peril. I suppose that’s why I love visiting it as much as I can – for as long as I can. This type of information worries me though – cause my beloved Robertson family is nestled in Tidewater, Oregon.

I’m assuming that the Tsunami would completely wipe out the coastal towns. And I’m not sure how much further in it would push. I know the earthquake impact zone would include Portland, and could topple building and bridges. The idea of losing our famous bridges… well, I don’t like to think about it. Let alone, the death toll of this event – which would radiate from Northern California up into Victoria BC. It would devastate the Pacific NW. 😦

And for the record – California is FUCKED. The Cascadia Subduction Zone and the San Andreas Fault are destined to basically wipe that whole state off the map.

My thoughts on the totality of these “warnings”: Let’s do something now. Let’s “preemptively strike” our cities and coast for what we know is coming. Let’s avoid being the Hurricane Katrina of the West Coast.

It looks likes we’re already starting – but it’s slow steps. I guess slow steps are the only way the government knows how to address things like natural disasters. National disasters – those happen much quicker. 😉

Much Love, Mindy C

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About tinyheroes

Mindy Crouchley is a 33 year old woman with a degree in English and Technical Writing from Portland State University. She has accumulated three+ years experience in the Marketing and Communications field - with an emphasis on creating digital media content. She has been reading comic books since she was 10 years old. She currently lives in outer southeast Portland with her spouse Dan Robertson, her baby girl, and their dog - Jabba the pug. She spends her free time devouring books, crafting cosplay, video gaming, attending comic cons, writing stories/screenplays, attending book to film adaptation club meetings, volunteering, and watching copious amounts of TV and movies.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. hurricane katrina death toll - May 6, 2008

Leave a Reply

