Warming up to Wall-E

I was not pleased to be pestered by my husband at 6:00pm on a Friday evening to go watch a Kid’s movie with my three nephews, and entire family in tow.

“But it’s Pixar!” he pleaded, not realizing my lack of caring.

I told him fine – if we could sneak into a double feature and I could see something else afterwards, so as not to waste my money on crap I didn’t really want to see. Continuing my obsession with Comic Books/Graphic Novels turned films – I decided our second showing for the night would  be Wanted.

The next question should be – which one did you like better? If it’s not already obvious from my entry title – Wall-E was the winner of the evening.

It was charming, and I got over the creepy robot voice by the third or fourth utterance. Of course, what thrilled me most was that it was a post-apocalyptic jab at the current way we are treating our world. As a garbage heap, that we (and ya know, a shit ton of animals and whatnot) just happen to live on as well.

I loved the premise – the gentle, and not-so-gentle poking at the nature of humanity. Mostly I loved the love story (I’m turning into such a sap) and at times, I almost forgot I was watching an animated movie. Or rather, a computer generated movie.

Which is why I was initially turned off on the idea of watching it. I’m not a huge fan of robots, or computer animated films. I loved Finding Nemo and Shrek and all that rot – but so much of the time I felt like these movies were screaming, “look at me – I’m so awesomely computer generated!! I’m SOO COLORFUL AND LIFE-LIKE!!!”

Somehow – it was easier to stomach the computer generation when it wasn’t REALLY trying to simulate life. Does that even make sense?

The personalities of the robots were so engaging, along with the plot that I could easily ignore the need to be attuned to computer animation. It was a freaking delightful film, which managed to keep the rapt attention of my 5 year old nephew for 90 minutes. The two younger ones lost interest until the end action kicked up. They were more interested in playing with popcorn and harassing Grandma by that point.

Again – what I appreciated was the opportunity to be charmed by an interesting plot, without having to be reminded I was watching a computer animated film every 10 seconds.

WANTED on the other hand – reminded us every 10 minutes that we were watching a movie about guns. Guns in grocery stores, guns in cars, guns on trains, and guns on foot. Guns in toilets! Guns on rooftops! Guns in a textile mill! Would you, could you, with some ham? I do sure like guns, Sam-I-Am.

I knew what I was in for. I’d seen the trailers, heard the buzz. I suppose deep down I was angling for something a bit more compelling. I’m not sure if the graphic novel was properly translated to screen – having never read it, so it’s hard to get a good feel for the written work of Mark Millar based on this film.

But yes – the main character (whose name I couldn’t be bothered to remember) and I never agreed well with one another, once all the guns started a-flashin. He was compelling initially, and amusing throughout much of the first 30-45 minutes. But then it was all plot and well, you know…guns. So – cool. Car chases, train chases, foot chases, explosions and slow motion amazing-ness abounded. There was over-the-top swearing and at least two ridiculous sex scenes. Color me entertained.

But in the end – it was a movie about Assassins. And I give two shits about assassins. They could all die and I would shrug. They are amoral (or maybe immoral) characters, and it’s really hard to care about people who have no qualms with killing other people. Sure, they live by some hokey-assed code. Most of the time.

Wanted satisfied my need to see a reasonably attractive Scottish man (James Mcavoy) fake his way through an American accent for 90 minutes and fire a lot of guns. But whether the film will resonate with me beyond this weekend, that is slim to none.

I do want to take a moment to pause and ask…what the fuck is with the United States and British/Scottish actors and writers lately? Are we that pathetic that out of our millions of teeming masses across this country, we cannot produce actors or writers with enough talent, so we must fish overseas? Not that I’m belittling the talent of these folks…just noticing a trend. Many prominent English/Scottish comic book writers, as well as actors popping up lately and finding great success in the states.

One more Wanted comment – I might have liked the film better if not for Angelina Jolie. She creeps me out with her snake eyes, crazy big lips and un-naturally skinny upper arms. My lip curls every time she graces the screen. What I can appreciate is that she is top-dog on the billing, because we all know that it’s tough out there in Hollywood for bad-ass chicks at the moment.

Overall, I enjoyed the evening…except for eating too much popcorn and drinking way too much Cherry Coke. 🙂

Much Love, Mindy C

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About tinyheroes

Mindy Crouchley is a 33 year old woman with a degree in English and Technical Writing from Portland State University. She has accumulated three+ years experience in the Marketing and Communications field - with an emphasis on creating digital media content. She has been reading comic books since she was 10 years old. She currently lives in outer southeast Portland with her spouse Dan Robertson, her baby girl, and their dog - Jabba the pug. She spends her free time devouring books, crafting cosplay, video gaming, attending comic cons, writing stories/screenplays, attending book to film adaptation club meetings, volunteering, and watching copious amounts of TV and movies.

5 responses to “Warming up to Wall-E”

  1. tasithoughts says :

    I appreciate your comments on the movies. I have been considering seeing them.

  2. Michael says :

    Nice write-up. I saw the Wanted (free) sneak peak on Thursday night, and thought it was pretty good. I also used the opportunity to go see the Hulk, which I liked, so I can finally read your entry on that one. 🙂

    To answer your (semi-) question, the movie was NOTHING like the graphic novel. But, if you don’t like assassins, you’ll like the graphic novel even less, so I wouldn’t recommend it. It’s basically about a group of bad guys who’ve taken over the world and do whatever they want.

    (Also, your links to amoral and immoral point to the same place.)

    I wanna go see Wall-E now. This is the second good review I’ve read of it. I’m going to forward this blog entry’s URL to a friend who wrote the first one and was (ironically) asking about Wanted. Nice to see you writing regularly again. 🙂

  3. Hisham says :

    One interesting thing about the Wanted film is how anxious Mark Millar was to see his comic adapted. He sold the film rights to it right after the first issue came out. For a while he was promoting the rumor that Eminem wanted to play the lead role.

    Even with the changes made to the story, he seems to have embraced the film without any reservations.

Leave a Reply

