BACK to basics: Fray, Tank Girl and more…

So – I’ve been a bit neglectful of my blogging duties, but all in the name of good fun..and making ridiculous fan vids.

Another reason is that I’ve sworn off graphic novels and tpb’s until something more interesting crossed my path. I was getting tired of scouring the library shelves for some semblance of a reasonable title, and coming up with books that weren’t really holding my attention. And just to reassure you all – I managed to find a few decent titles.

I’ve also wanted to get back to my regular old novel roots, and devour a few books I’ve had on my list for awhile. My latest conquest was Middlesex by author Jeffrey Eugenides. It was refreshing adult and literary content. And now I’m ready to return to the wonderful world of comic books.

Even though I’ve been “gone” for two weeks, since my world seems to revolve around comic books, and movies, and comic books – I stumbled across a few comic related tidbits I felt compelled to share.

00056My latest fan-vid (oh, the nerdosity temperature just rose a few degrees in here) is all about a tpb I picked up during my 25th birthday – Fray written by Joss Whedon with art by Karl Moline and Andy Owens. It follows the story of Melaka Fray – a slayer living in a future that is reminiscent of Firefly – with some similar phrasing – “rutting” being the best example.

However – Fray has no knowledge of how to be a slayer and instead leads the life of a hardened thief – running from a tragic past.

The art by Karl Moline is fantastic, and the coloring by Andy Owens is rich and bright – everything you would expect and want from a future with flying cars. Is there a future without flying cars? Where the hell are OUR flying cars!?

But I digress…I also stumbled across Tank Girl through ON Demand last week. Can I just take a moment to say that I love DVR? Having the power to record the shows that I love and watch them whenever I want, fast-forwarding through shit commercials…phew…it’s a TV revolution.

Right – back to Tank Girl. I dug the screwball antics of the main character and the randomness of the plot, but at the same time…it reminded me of all that had been so off-putting about comic book movies made in the last decade.

And what it is that has made comic book movies so distasteful in the past? The cheese factor. Since I’ve not read Tank Girl, I’m not sure how true the movie was to the comic, but the campiness was firing on all cylinders, and made it incredibly difficult to forget you were watching a movie based on a cheeseball comic book. Which was probably the intention. But it didn’t work all the time.

It felt like a 1.5 hour commercial for the series. And though I find myself intrigued, and considering taking a gander at the book…I’m not certain TankGirl will ever make any Top 10 comic movie lists I put together. And on that note – here’s a Top 10 List:

1. Hellboy

2. Spiderman 2

3. X-Men 2

4. American Splendor

5. Batman Begins

6. The Incredible Hulk

7. The Dark Knight

8. Iron Man

9. V for Vendetta

10. Sin City

Superman Returns is Number #11 on that list, but mostly because it’s a love letter from Singer to Superman, not for it’s abilities as comic book movie adaptation. Sin City is noteworthy and list-worthy because it revoluntionized the look of comic movies and succeeded in staying admirably accurate to the talents and story-telling of Frank Miller. Which isn’t to say that I much like Sin City.

Persepolis ranks in at 12 – there was too much of an arthouse element for it to be considered comic movie, in my estimation.

And, getting back to Tank Girl: In defense of the artistic craft that went into Tank Girl – Lori Petty had intense and hilarious screen presence. What the hell ever happened to her, btw? Oh, looks like she’s doing mostly voice work now. It’s a shame, she’s gorgeous. Here’s hoping someone gets it together and resurrects her presence in Hollywood. She could definitely pull of another super heroine.

Also worth noting: Naomi Watts (wtf, right?) and Ice-T star in this flick. I’m aware that it has a cult status among many, but it’s a shame that’s all this film with ever retain. I think there was great potential here, squandered by camp. And again – that could be in the vein of the book. So yes – it was fun and funny, but not much more than that.

Yesterday I had the great pleasure of emptying out the contents of my box at the local comic store (Excalibur represent). Not only did I get some very nice compliments (and one of the dudes took a cell pic) about my tattoo, but I dropped about $60.

The content featured below is about four months of books I need to read:

Kudos to you if you can pick out specific books and titles from this collection. Yep, I’m going to be spending at least the next week “getting back to basics” and shuffling through the stack of issues that has developed while I’ve been fan-vidding and reading regular, smelly old novels.

This will be a bit of a departure from my previous methods of reviewing primarily trade paperbacks or graphic novels…but I think it’ll be fun to break down the series I’m reading…and why a few of them may soon be culled from my box.

As a side note: I’ve mostly been avoiding the Marvel Universe because of Secret Invasion. This has also limited my reading of Wizard down to the letters column and the comic-con notices in the back. Those spoiling bastards! I’m waiting until the Invasion hype is over, and then I’ll get it from the library, without having to shell out big bucks to stay in the loop.

ALRIGHTY – Here’s the hit list for the next week or so (they appear alphabetically in the photo – nerd style):

Angel: After the Fall

Astonishing X-Men

Buffy: The Vampire Slayer

The Dark Tower

Runaways

Spike: After the Fall

Uncanny X-Men

The Walking Dead

X-Factor

X-Men Legacy

And the graphic novels/trade paperbacks:

Ex Machina

The Incredible Hulk (Peter David – Visionaries)

Marvels

Here’s hoping that I can continue to pique your interest. Thanks for sticking around while I took a much needed hiatus from comics, so I could return with a greater appreciation for the art form.

I can’t promise there won’t be such breaks in the future. One of my goals is to get through this new young-adult series suggested to me by a friend: Twilight. And I may or may not be attempting to read more Russian Literature (Crime and Punishment, I’ve got my eye on you).

Stay tuned…

Much Love, Mindy C

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About tinyheroes

Mindy Crouchley is a 33 year old woman with a degree in English and Technical Writing from Portland State University. She has accumulated three+ years experience in the Marketing and Communications field - with an emphasis on creating digital media content. She has been reading comic books since she was 10 years old. She currently lives in outer southeast Portland with her spouse Dan Robertson, her baby girl, and their dog - Jabba the pug. She spends her free time devouring books, crafting cosplay, video gaming, attending comic cons, writing stories/screenplays, attending book to film adaptation club meetings, volunteering, and watching copious amounts of TV and movies.

3 responses to “BACK to basics: Fray, Tank Girl and more…”

  1. Rick Boyer says :

    Nice site. Theres some good information on here. Ill be checking back regularly.

  2. Dan says :

    And that’s what you got TODAY. We have quite the backlog running already filed but UNREAD.

    -Dan

  3. Michael says :

    Glad to see you back. Don’t have much more to say other than that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

