Wolverine: Origins Movie Leak

wolverine36bCan’t say that I’m quite shocked about this. But as a fan of watching action-movies on the big screen, with sound effects and explosions and audience response…I decided to pass on the opportunity to see a crappy screener version of this flick on my lap-top. Especially since it lacks a proper score and visual effects. Really? Are people that desperate?

If folks can’t stand to wait another month, it’s on them. But I don’t support Fox, the FBI and MPAA going balls out to prosecute someone about this. And I’m pretty leery about the response from a geek site like Ain’t it Cool News  although I do agree with quite a bit of what it has to say about the incident and it’s casting a negative-light on comic fans. You don’t see other genre films getting early-leaked and peddled around the net. Right? Am I right?

As a fan, I want to support X-Men films, and the best way to do that is throw my dollars behind them.

I am however, amused that this happened to Fox. After they pulled the crap move and leeched profit from Watchmen, this seems an appropriate kick in the balls to them. But in all other instances, where folks are claiming this was a PR stunt by Fox…I don’t see how or why. They don’t stand to gain much from the fake-release of an incomplete product, unless it’s really that good and they anticipate word of mouth and early reviews will generate buzz.

Frankly, I’m confused by their advertisement stunts for this film. I was seeing pretty long trailers for this movie on Fox about a month ago. Usually you don’t see TV ads until two or three weeks before opening. Are they really so concerned about this product that they would pre-leak it?

But the real question is – why would you watch an unfinished version of a film, anyway? And similarly, why would you read the incomplete, first draft version of Midnight Sun? Granted, I did the latter, but only because Meyer herself had posted it, claiming there would be no more versions.

Frankly – first drafts and rough cuts SUCK. I would rather pay money to see a crappy completed project than download a free version with all the wires and grammatical errors showing. To me, it’s not about piracy, it’s about common damn sense. Which apparently quite a few folks lack.

Much Love, Mindy C

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About tinyheroes

Mindy Crouchley is a 33 year old woman with a degree in English and Technical Writing from Portland State University. She has accumulated three+ years experience in the Marketing and Communications field - with an emphasis on creating digital media content. She has been reading comic books since she was 10 years old. She currently lives in outer southeast Portland with her spouse Dan Robertson, her baby girl, and their dog - Jabba the pug. She spends her free time devouring books, crafting cosplay, video gaming, attending comic cons, writing stories/screenplays, attending book to film adaptation club meetings, volunteering, and watching copious amounts of TV and movies.

4 responses to “Wolverine: Origins Movie Leak”

  1. Michael says :

    2 things:

    First of all, as someone who steals ALL of his music and rarely goes to the theater, I’ll tell you that the p2p sites where I get my music from are always waaaaaay more busy with movie traffic than CD’s. I’d say that almost every movie is pirated and available much before its release and I’ve been laughing my ass off at the fact that, when it happens with Wolverine, it’s apparently news.

    Secondly, I’d never heard of Midnight Dawn. Intriguing. I’m just looking into it now. Thanks for the linkage. 🙂

    • tinyheroes says :

      Yes – I totally dig what you’re saying about piracy – it tends to be movies on most of the torrent sites I frequent. Yes, I’ve pirated a few…but the quality is always fairly poor (on the films) and it ended up in me seeing the movie in the theatre or buying the DVD. Usually if I’m attracted to something, and it’s good – I’ll end up paying money for it one way or another.

      I’m most guilty of pirating comic books online, which I admit openly is shameful. Some of them I own (or have read through the library)…and almost all have gone towards a fan vid project. Not that those excuses make a damned bit of difference.

  2. Michael says :

    Sorry, obviously, I meant Midnight Sun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

