Oscar Nominations 2010

You know it’s been a weird year in movies when the Academy inflates it’s Best Picture list to 10 and at least five of them probably don’t deserve to be listed.

It’s also been a rather dry Oscar season – as is evidence by at least half of the list having been in the theatres almost 6 months ago. It boasts TWO sci-fi flicks, TWO war pics, and TWO films with the word “up” in the title. Confusion reigns, eh? Personally, I’m rather excited to see a variety of titles make the best picture list (even if the list had to be bulked up in order to accomodate them). It’s not often a science fiction film makes the cut (and NEVER a horror film) and for two in one year to grace the list, why – it’s almost unheard of.

For my picks this year – I’m going with my assertions that Avatar really wasn’t the mind-altering film that it’s been purported to be. In fact, I’m ignoring it in most categories except for those that are strictly visual. There was nothing else endearing about that film except for it’s seamless integration of 3D into it’s storytelling. And it’s storytelling was crap. Sorry. It had to be said…don’t act like you weren’t thinking it.

Alrighty – more analysis after the list:

Best Picture: In my heart of hearts I would love for District 9 to win. It was by far the movie that had the most impact on me all year long. I’ve been pretty consistent telling friends and family it was my favorite of the year, and am therefore *giddy* to see it’s made the cut. Do I think it will win an Oscar? Probably not. But it’s an honor, right?

Therefore, it’s a toss up between Inglourious Basterds and The Hurt Locker. I think these films each have a strong case to present, and if the Academy is not made up of tools and troglodytes – either of these films is in a great spot to win the golden statue. Any other serious competition will be provided by Precious  and Up in the Air. Since I thought  Air was crap (and you should too) – Precious could pull it out this year.

Best Director: The woman in me wants Kathryn Bigelow  to win this and nail all the male-centric Hollywood bullcrap to the wall with a shit-eating grin on her face. But – I also have a soft spot for Quentin Tarantino’s massive body of work and all of the Oscar snubs for his continually improving hand as a director. He is poised to take it, and I am happy for him. Kathryn Bigelow needs a few more films under her belt before she gets that honor. It’s the way of the Oscars.

Best Actor: Because I know Bigelow will only come in second as Best Director, I am really gunning for Jeremy Renner. But up against George Clooney and Jeff Bridges…that’s a tough place to be. I’m going to say they hand it off to Clooney, who has never scored a Lead Actor Oscar before and is definitely in a fine position to do so now. Hollywood seems smugly satisfied with Up in the Air and will no doubt pat Clooney on the head…even though he’s been a far better actor in far better films. Bridges is the only real competition in this category, methinks. Sorry Renner.

Best Actress: Meryl Streep and Helen Mirren? Come on. The Academy gets an F- for originality. I love Meryl Streep…but I’m really tired of her. Nominating her for an Oscar is like saying gravity works. Redundant and unthrilling. She is the best actress alive – we get it. I’m actually going to put my money (yes, real money even!) on Sandra Bullock in this category. As I mentioned earlier – the Academy loves an actor/actress with a lot of work on their resume. This could be her year – she’s really been pimping it.

Best Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz. Nuff said.

Best Support Actress: In the entire Twilight series – Anna Kendrick was the one bright spot. In the entire film Up in the Air – Anna Kendrick was the one bright spot. Kinda lame they have her going up against the more seasoned and poised Vera Farmiga, then. She could be the dark horse in this category. If Penelope Cruz wins – I might vomit.

Best Animated Feature Film: Up. This is the category it deserves to win in.

Best Foreign Film: Having not actually watched any of these films, I’m choosing solely based on the name and country of origin – Un Prophete.  Either that, or The White Ribbon.

Best Original Screenplay: This will be the category that Tarantino wins, if nothing else. But I’m really thinking he’s a sure thing for the Director Oscar. REALLY. He could manage both.

Best Adapted Screenplay: Precious is the highest bidder for this – with District 9 (my personal favorite) coming a close second.

Best Documentary Feature: Food, Inc. It’s the only documentary that even sounds remotely familiar.

Best Original Score: Most likely it will be Up (since I don’t see Nine on the list)…but I really dug the Sherlock Holmes  soundtrack, especially the end credits.

Skipping a few categories for which I don’t care (song and costume).

Best Film Editing: District 9 and Hurt Locker have a strong chance in this category. For me – incredibly difficult to judge as I don’t really get off on the technical aspects of film. Assuming that Avatar will take this though. And Special Effects. And Art Direction. Anything visual should go to this film and rightly so.

Best Cinematography: Hurt Locker has a chance – but I’m thinking Avatar. Damn.

And that’s about it. Yet again, it’s not been a very stellar year for women in film. Sure, there was Precious and Julie and Julia…and…Precious and Julie and Julia. Most of the Best Picture nominations are for films with strictly male leads, or exclusively male casts. Even the film directed by a woman (but I should be grateful that a woman was EVEN nominated for a directing Oscar) features only two or three scenes with a woman even present. And Nine? It’s about a dude. Women in this film are akin to the pretty 3D background in Avatar. Oooh – aaah. But lacking substance. Who else agrees that Melanie Laurent was robbed of even a nomination?

So of course, I find myself in a position that many in the male gender will never experience – rooting for art that is not at all reflective of my gender. But by no means does my gender define what art I shall root for. I wish many others could say the same.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About tinyheroes

Mindy Crouchley is a 33 year old woman with a degree in English and Technical Writing from Portland State University. She has accumulated three+ years experience in the Marketing and Communications field - with an emphasis on creating digital media content. She has been reading comic books since she was 10 years old. She currently lives in outer southeast Portland with her spouse Dan Robertson, her baby girl, and their dog - Jabba the pug. She spends her free time devouring books, crafting cosplay, video gaming, attending comic cons, writing stories/screenplays, attending book to film adaptation club meetings, volunteering, and watching copious amounts of TV and movies.

3 responses to “Oscar Nominations 2010”

  1. Erin says :

    I would like to see The Hurt Locker win for best picture and also Sandra Bullock for best actress. My desire would be for Up to win but I will be satisfied for best animated picture. With best actress, they do need to mix it up every year. I mean another for Meryl Streep? But then again there really aren’t that many fantastic actresses out there. I wish Anna Kendrick would win, but I think Monique has it. This is going to be good. I can’t wait for you guy’s party!

  2. Critique Direct says :

    I loved your blog theme! Did you develop it yourself or is it downloadalbe from somehwere?

  3. clinegirl22 says :

    I’m with you on Kathryn Bigelow. I’d love to see a woman win, but I don’t think her resume is strong enough for the voters to want to give the first female director win to her. They always come close but no cigar. I’m really surprised they didn’t split the Best Picture category into two and do Best Picture Drama and Best Picture Comedy. If that happened, The Hangover would’ve had a fighting chance and as much as I love that movie, it would be very unusual for it to win.

Leave a Reply

