Head Full of Hooters: Finished

Finished up the Head Full of Hooters hat this evening – not really pleased with the outcome so I’ve decided not to bind off – plan on ripping it out and re-knitting several portions of it with a different stitch. There is simply too much going on with this hat between the ribbing, stockinette, owl cabling and the garter stitch decrease at the top. Ugh – the top was probably my least favorite. I’m sure you’ll agree once you see what I’m talking about here:

The top of the hat - transition from stockinette to garter stitch is ugly.

I am in love with how the cable owls turned out – with the color and feel of the yarn, and even the bind off is not too bad. In fact, I’ve known since yesterday that I wasn’t going to like the finished object, but I wanted to give it a shot and show exactly what aspects of it I’m not appreciating. I think I’ll bring the owls down even closer to the ribbing, and substitute the stockinette stitch for a nice and even purl. I’m really loving how the purl contrasts against the owl cables. Here’s the “finished” product:

Owl hat with model

See, even with reducing the number of stockinette stitches before starting the owls, they are still sitting way too high up on the head. And the stockinette makes the decreases on the top of the hat pucker and bunch in odd ways.

Owl hat without model

I dunno – maybe it’s worth binding off and keeping. I’d like to make another one with the modifications I’ve developed from this first/test hat. Kinda liking it – and the owls are so freaking adorable, it’s hard to contemplate ripping them out. What do you think? Scrap or keep?

Tags: , , ,

About tinyheroes

Mindy Crouchley is a 33 year old woman with a degree in English and Technical Writing from Portland State University. She has accumulated three+ years experience in the Marketing and Communications field - with an emphasis on creating digital media content. She has been reading comic books since she was 10 years old. She currently lives in outer southeast Portland with her spouse Dan Robertson, her baby girl, and their dog - Jabba the pug. She spends her free time devouring books, crafting cosplay, video gaming, attending comic cons, writing stories/screenplays, attending book to film adaptation club meetings, volunteering, and watching copious amounts of TV and movies.

2 responses to “Head Full of Hooters: Finished”

  1. clinegirl22 says :

    I say keep. I really like the owls and I can tell you put a lot of work into it so to scrap it now would be sad. You should totally keep it and make another with the modifications. I’m very impressed. Also, by making the second hat you’ll get an idea of how they both look and you can decide which one you like best. And you’ll have two fabulous hats.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Owl Hat for Savanna « Sit and Knit - February 28, 2010

Leave a Reply

