Dog Sweater: Completed

The dog sweater is officially finished. It only took a day or two (while nursing a sick husband, mind you) to get the bottom half completed – had it nearly done last night and decided that I disliked the garter and wanted to add ribbing around the underside collar – so I had to rip it down to where I wanted the ribbing to start and knit it back up.

The result is not wholely what I wanted or expected, but seems ok for my first real clothing project. It’s pretty tight around the neck and legs, but fine around the rest of the torso, as you can see here.

Notice how his fur bulges out of the sweater

The cable and ribbing are barely discernible with the homespun, however, and that’s certainly disappointing. The flash on the camera doesn’t help  either, but all my hardwork is pretty much obliterated in the texture. Bedamned yarn!

Can you spot the cable and ribbing in this pic? Neither can I.

Ultimately – I must admit the Dog Sweater probably wasn’t going to get much use outside of satisfying my desire to knit some easy article of clothing for the pug, and entertain me with a photo session or two of him looking pestered. And on that end – mission accomplished. The damn thing is already too small, so note to self to knit up Medium sized, even if he looks too skinny. Dog bodies are quiet deceptive. And yes – I measured…but I’ve worked with homespun before and it always seems to stretch, so I wasn’t really anticipating the thing being too small, even when I knew I wasn’t knitting the full chest measurement. Well, I was wrong. I will admit it.

But if the end result is that I get one picture of Jabba dressed in an item I knitted, then it was worth all the effort.

The under-bite that drives all the old ladies wild

Tags: , , , ,

About tinyheroes

Mindy Crouchley is a 33 year old woman with a degree in English and Technical Writing from Portland State University. She has accumulated three+ years experience in the Marketing and Communications field - with an emphasis on creating digital media content. She has been reading comic books since she was 10 years old. She currently lives in outer southeast Portland with her spouse Dan Robertson, her baby girl, and their dog - Jabba the pug. She spends her free time devouring books, crafting cosplay, video gaming, attending comic cons, writing stories/screenplays, attending book to film adaptation club meetings, volunteering, and watching copious amounts of TV and movies.

5 responses to “Dog Sweater: Completed”

  1. Sarah says :

    I remember, just a few months ago, when you said that homespun was your favorite yarn and I thought to myself, “That won’t last long.” Ha. It’s such a beautiful yarn for simple projects but the tougher, more interesting projects you knit/crochet, the more you want a simple yarn with great color and less built-in texture. Isn’t getting better at fibre arts awesome? 🙂

    • tinyheroes says :

      It’s absolutely awesome. I honestly never thought I’d get to a point where I would just want to flush all the Homsepun out of my stash. Sadly, it only took a month and a few projects with smaller weight yarn before I realized that Homespun had actually been more of a burden than a blessing.

      Now I want to either donate the rest or knit everything up into an Ugly Afghan. 🙂

      • Addie says :

        Ugly afghan! Ugly afghan! Let’s have an ugly afghan knitting party.

        • tinyheroes says :

          Ha ha – I love it! I do actually want to make a non-ugly afghan in the future, but I’m really disenchanted with Homespun and need to exorcise it from my stash by any means neccesary. 🙂

          • Sarah says :

            i’m planning on making an afghan for my mom with homespun… a similar exorcise… maybe we can talk about some trades or something ’cause i have some colors picked out for it and if you have those same ones i may want to jump on it… mostly purples and reds…

Leave a Reply

