Owl Hat for Savanna

After seeing the pics of my first completed Owls hat, my friend Savanna commissioned me to make one for her. I asked her to chip in for the cost of supplies, and she graciously offered to pay me a bit more for my time. We discussed what kind of modifications or special additions she wanted, and she requested the same yarn (Wool-Ease worsted weight Blue Mist), with small black button eyes and a pom pom on top.

Excited, but nervous about tackling two unknowns (sewing items onto knitting and creating pom poms) – I procured the supplies last weekend, but wanted to finish up the Dog Sweater before I started another Owls hat.

I began constructing the hat on Friday night in a knitting party with my friend Addie, worked on it over Saturday and Sunday, and finished it up this afternoon while watching a marathon of the Dog Whisperer. I modified the pattern with six rows of purls between the initial ribbing, and six rows of purling before starting the decreases at the top.

Pom Pom Maker of Suck

In order to understand exactly how the pom poms are constructed – I watched several instructional youtube videos. Unfortunately, none of them had instructions on how to work with the Lion Brand Pom Pom Maker I’d purchased, and the pictorials on the back weren’t exactly assuring.

After opening the package and studying the makers for awhile…I determined they were not going to work for me. I would have to measure the yarn out before to wind it around, and there is no slit or opening to easily feed the yarn through. Honestly, more cumbersome than the product is worth. And this other blogger agrees with me.

Not exactly sure what I’m going to do with them at this point. They’d make nice miniature frisbees, I suppose. Instead of constructing any other products or purchasing anything else…I wrapped the yarn around my hand until I got the desired thickness – just as this video shows.

Cheap, easy and terribly effective. I feel a bit silly now about purchasing a product when there is a free and easy alternative, but  – I learned my lesson AND gained a new skill.

So - this happened.

Once I had wrapped the yarn around my hand – I slipped it off my fingers and tied an already cut piece of yarn around the middle. Then I snipped it down the middle of the two sets of folds, and shook it out. Voila – a satisfactory pom pom.

Finished Pom Pom

Finished closing up the hat, wove in the ends and strung the pom through the top, tying it off. It looks pretty freaking awesome.

With Pom Pom - Before Buttons

Next – I tested sewing the button eyes on.  I was nervous that the sewing would slip through the holes in the yarn…but surprisingly it sewed up just as it would on any regular piece of fabric. The rest of the 18 buttons sewed on with ease and the hat is now completed.

After Buttons - Finished Object

I’m hoping she likes it. 🙂

Tags: , , , , , ,

About tinyheroes

Mindy Crouchley is a 33 year old woman with a degree in English and Technical Writing from Portland State University. She has accumulated three+ years experience in the Marketing and Communications field - with an emphasis on creating digital media content. She has been reading comic books since she was 10 years old. She currently lives in outer southeast Portland with her spouse Dan Robertson, her baby girl, and their dog - Jabba the pug. She spends her free time devouring books, crafting cosplay, video gaming, attending comic cons, writing stories/screenplays, attending book to film adaptation club meetings, volunteering, and watching copious amounts of TV and movies.

6 responses to “Owl Hat for Savanna”

  1. Angela says :

    That is awesome Mindy! I really like the added buttons to the project.

    • tinyheroes says :

      Thanks! I think it really brings the owls out – it can be hard to tell what they are without them.

      Probably gonna add some to the first hat I made for me.

  2. Savanna says :

    I already thanked you on Facebook but wanted to post here as well. I FREAKING LOVE THIS HAT!!!! It is the cutest hat I’ve ever seen, by far. I know you claim to be a novice, but I don’t buy it. 😛 You need to start an etsy shop or something!

    • tinyheroes says :

      Aww, you are so kind! The ESD has a craft fair in the Fall, so I’m thinking about knitting up some items for that. If I can sell some there – I might consider starting up on Etsy shop. Who knows!?

      Do you want to get together sometime this weekend so you can pick up your hat?

      • Savanna says :

        Yes! Absolutely! 🙂 I’m busy as all get out due to school and student teaching but think I can manage to get out of the house sometime Saturday or Sunday.

        I miss the ESD!

        • tinyheroes says :

          Awesome – I also posted a note on your facebook wall. My Saturday is pretty empty, so that would be a great time to get together. 🙂

Leave a Reply

