To 3D or Not To Be?

We've come a long way from these nerdy-ass glasses.

That’s the entertainment question, for the ages…or this age at least. Or maybe just the last year. Yeah, probably just the last year.

Hollywood has decided that 3D is the only way to get your human meat in their theatre seats lately. And I get it – some of the 3D has been quite fun.

Being HUGE freaking movie nerds, the DH and I have had this discussion more than once…what makes a movie 3D worthy?

I’ll argue strongly that 3D only belongs in animated flicks and fantastical or horrifical worlds. Up, Avatar, Alice in Wonderland – in these places 3D makes sense, because you are already at a higher level of belief suspension. The world is funky enough for the slightly disorienting and blurry effect of 3D to barely go noticed.

My main concerns about the prevalence and rabid push for 3D in Hollywood lately is that somewhere along the line, a studio is going to insert it where it doesn’t belong. Like in a Martin Scorsese or Coen Brothers film. *shudder* Oh wait – Scorsese is looking to make one. Does anyone really need to see Leo DiCaprio protruding from the screen? It looks like the Coens are steering clear from the extra dimension, thus far.

I’m highly skeptical of how appropriate 3D is for horror movies that aren’t slashers like My Bloody Valentine. And honestly – I’ve never seen a horror movie in 3D. *gasp* But it’s true! Only really gimmicky horror movies are getting the extra dimension treatment, and those are the ones I generally avoid like the zombie plague. And from this list, you can see the general schlock-fest of 3D horror movies coming down the pike.

Now zombies in 3D, I would pay a little extra to see. What could be more horrifying than a 30 foot tall zombie horde lurching towards you? Wow – can Hollywood make this happen now-please-k-thanx? Ok, you already read my mind (a trick you really need to teach my DH) and set up Zombieland 2 in 2011 to take place in the third dimension. Amazing. Can I marry you Hollywood? I’ll do the dishes!

Another smart move studios have made on the 3D front is keeping it’s viewing entirely optional. So – you only have to pay $13.50 (in PDX anyways) to see a 3D movie if you really, really want to. But every time you do so, you are voting for more 3D…and with more 3D comes less of a choice. Honestly, in the future if most of the movies being released are in 3D, do you really think a movie theatre is going to support a non-3D version for which tickets cost less?

 

Movies I Will Most Likely See in 3D:

Clash of the Titans

Tron Legacy

Resident Evil: Afterlife (hello, Zombies!)

– Any other cartoony, computer-animated film my horde of nephews wants to see. I would prefer How to Train Your Dragon

 

3D Movies I’ll Watch in 2D (thank you very much):

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (1 and 2)

The Cabin in the Woods

Green Lantern

Actually – The Cabin in the Woods might be the catalyst  for me to watch a slasher/horror film in 3D. Resident Evil movies don’t count because they’re not horror – it’s a video game adaptation. Totally different genre.

Check out this 2010/2011 list for more scheduled crapfest movies like Halloween 3, Step Up and JackAss. Quite a few on the list I haven’t seen media for, so they’re up for grabs as to quality.

So – should ALL movies be in 3D?

Interesting 3D related articles:

3D glasses creating 100 manufacturing jobs in New Jersey

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About tinyheroes

Mindy Crouchley is a 33 year old woman with a degree in English and Technical Writing from Portland State University. She has accumulated three+ years experience in the Marketing and Communications field - with an emphasis on creating digital media content. She has been reading comic books since she was 10 years old. She currently lives in outer southeast Portland with her spouse Dan Robertson, her baby girl, and their dog - Jabba the pug. She spends her free time devouring books, crafting cosplay, video gaming, attending comic cons, writing stories/screenplays, attending book to film adaptation club meetings, volunteering, and watching copious amounts of TV and movies.

7 responses to “To 3D or Not To Be?”

  1. Jen says :

    I almost always prefer to see them in 2D unless it’s something like Avatar where the 3D is clearly an enhancement of the experience. The glasses, while better than the olden days, still are a nuisance, and I almost always get a headache by the end of the movie.

    I get especially annoyed when they decide to convert them after the fact, like they are doing with Clash of the Titans and the Harry Potter movies, because you know they’re just doing it to squeeze more money out, and the 3D is pretty much never as good as when it is filmed in 3D from the start.

    • tinyheroes says :

      Absolutely true on all counts. With Clash of the Titans, I’m looking forward to seeing more Sam Worthington in 3D. Wonder if this dude has some kind of 3D clause in his contract now.

      “All my movies MUST appear in 3D or I will crush you with my bare hands.”

      I was pretty irritated with the history behind Joss Whedon’s “The Cabin in the Woods,” which was set to be released in 2010, but they pulled it to insert 3D and pushed back the release date to 2011. A whole freaking year for some 3D effects? WHY!?

      It’s also cheeseball to insert 3D into the final Harry Potter film when no others have been released in that format. What’s the point? $$$$$!

  2. Troy says :

    The last thing I saw in 3D was Muppets 3D in Disneyland and must say that I do not really care for it.

    It’s a gimmick! Rather than waisting money to make your film 3D, why not spend that extra cash and MAKE BETTER MOVIES.

    I am not really on the Love Avatar Train. The movie was just Fern Gully in Space. The world was cool. But when I go to a movie I want to see a complete movie.

    You could call me bitter that I actually have no choice in the matter. The two movie theaters in my town are owned by the same people and are horrible and do not offer 3D movies, so that could explain my lack of interest.

    • tinyheroes says :

      Huh – that’s an interesting point you raise. Theatres that haven’t been modified yet for 3D screens are missing out on the huge cash bonanza, and audiences who WANT 3D are probably taking their business elsewhere as a result – further financially stressing completely 2D theatres.

      It’ll be compelling to watch the 3D drama unfold over the next few years.

  3. clinegirl22 says :

    I actually haven’t seen a movie in 3D but I did see My Bloody Valentine in 2D. I could tell from some of the angles and the death scenes that it was in 3D and has me interested in seeing the 3D Version. I do agree that a movie should warrant 3D rather than just being the norm. I can’t think of a single Coen Brothers movie that should be in 3D and would be surprised if they jumped on the bandwagon just because. I like that they offer the option of 2D and 3D rather than making all of them 3D. They’re already running into the issue of too many 3D movies and not enough 3D screens. They need to catch up with that technology first before they make all movies 3D.

    • tinyheroes says :

      Exactly – and I’m pretty sure those funds will come from the current set of 3D movies. My concern is that eventually they’ll see 3D as being so profitable, they’ll attach to it all films. And to be honest, it is distracting for me.

      I’m the kind of 3D viewer that will pull my glasses off at least two or three times during the movie to see what it looks like in 2D. Of course, it looks crappy and blurry because it’s NOT A 2D MOVIE. I know that, I just can’t help it. It completely disconnects me from what would otherwise be totally absorption into a film.

      One of my nephews also refuses to wear the glasses. I can’t imagine his viewing experience is that great.

Leave a Reply

