Eclipse and Kreativ Blogger Award

It’s Eclipse Day! I’ve been stricken with Twilight Fever again, and it’s arriving in the form of several hours worth of movie viewing tonight leading up to the Eclipse Premiere. It would be lying to say I’m not excited. But not in a super crazed way…enough to still be absolutely amused by this comic strip from Lucy Knisley.

It’s so perfect, and it must be shared with the world. I’ll probably trot this lovely out every Twilight movie, just so we can bask in it’s perfectly succinct glory.

IN OTHER NEWS…

This here lil blog won an award. It’s the first, so it’s extra special! Tiny Heroes was nominated by a classy lady I’ve linked to before – Kelly Thompson at 1979 Semi-Finalist. How cool is that? Pretty damn cool. Especially since Kelly is someone whose writing and insight I look forward to reading on a regular basis. Plus – she’s digging the Bechdel Test Experiment when it seemed like the entire project was kind of a bust as far as engaging anyone but angry troll men.

She’s helped to solidify it’s continuation (in some form or another) in the future. So, thank you for the nomination honor and your support!!

But there are rules with this glamorous award, and they are as follows:

1) Copy the award logo and place it on your blog.
2) Link to the person who has nominated you for the award.
3) You must thank the person who has given you the award.

Check those suckers off the list. But wait, there’s more!

4) Nominate 7 other Kreativ Bloggers.
2) Post Links to the 7 blogs you nominate.
3) Leave a comment on each of the blogs to let them know they have been nominated.

These are probably going to vary rather wildly as far as content, but these are all super awesome folks who I admire or from which I’ve learned a ton about comic books, food, blogging, etc.


1. Fresh From The… is a wonderful mix of delicious baking recipes and television recaps. I’ve known the author, Jen Brown, since we were wee kids in elementary school and she was always an excellent writer. She brings her A-Game to the table here, with awesome write-ups of TV shows like Supernatural and SYTYCD (we’re both obsessed) AND delicious desserts with pictures. It’s a marvelous format – mixing recipes and recaps. 🙂

2. Tiny Roads Leading Somewhere is a long distance friend whom I’ve only met once, but we still manage to maintain some intellectual discourse over the internets. I love his mix of politics and opinions on DC books (which I don’t read, so I gotta keep up somewhere). His passion for comic books and integrating them into his middle school curriculum is inspiring. He writes a basketball column for his local ABQ paper as well. Cool dude.

3. NW Comics Scene is another of the few guy friends I have who are really into comics. He has a more extensive knowledge than myself, and is constantly lending me awesome books, many of which make for Tiny Heroes reviews. Hopefully this nomination will get him to increase his blogging efforts (at least weekly). He works at a comic book shop on Fridays for trade, so YOU KNOW he’s got something to say!

4. 6’7″ and Green – A Comic Book Blog is the brainchild of Erica McGillivray. While she’s primarily a She-Hulk fan, she’s also written about some really compelling topics, two of my favorite being her showcase of Queer Comic Book Characters and her Wonder Woman Wednesday series. I always look forward to reading her perspective on the latest books coming out as well because she dashes a feminist flavor over the top. And she gets bonus points for being a Web Producer.

5. Musings from The Farm-Girl is another stellar writer who I met in a tv-scripting class at Portland State University. She is absolutely inspiring in her passion to succeed as a writer, and I have no qualms that she will one day make it in the field. She’s busy with work and school so she doesn’t post weekly, but she’s got great insight and her commitment keeps me motivated to continue writing.

6. The Seventeen Magazine Project was featured in a Jezebel article, and absolutely won me over with it’s humorous tackling of  a social experiment. It’s always intensely compelling to me when people set out to critically examine their lives or alter their patterns to learn something about themselves and society. Jaime Keiles is one of the youngest bloggers (18) I’ve followed, and she is so knowledgeable and thoughtful for her age. She gives me great hope for the future of feminism and media discourse.

7. Last but not least, is Smalls. She’s been a friend since HS. We shared the joys and pains of Journalism class together, and then endured a few years working at the same movie theater. She’s a closet nerd – appearing quite normal on the outside until you unearth her Lord of the Rings maps and posters one day when helping her move. But seriously – her Lost recaps this year kept me focused and I looked forward to them after every episode. I’m hoping she picks back up with another show pretty soon and starts updating regularly again! She also writes a TV column for the Portland Examiner.

And then there’s one last thing…

7) Name 7 things about yourself that people might find interesting.

1. We’ll start out small – with party tricks! I can tie a cherry stem in a knot using only my teeth and tongue. Which means I’m a great make-out partner.

2. I’m a seasonal knitter. It’s tough to get really pumped about sitting on my ass watching TV when the weather is nice. So yes – instead of fair weather friend, I’m a bad weather knitter. Me and Liz Lemon.

3. It rarely snows in Portland, Oregon – but we do get hit at least once a year with freezing rain. One exceptionally bad storm I was fiending for Harry Potter, so I made my DH and Brother drive out in two-inch thick freezing rain to rent all the DVDs for me. They did, cause they’re awesome. Yes, I made two important people in my life risk life and limb for HP.

4. I’ve participated in one eating contest in my life – with donuts. Portland is host to Voodoo Doughnut and they have monthly contests. Since it was an all-girl event, they made us chow down on their famous “cock and balls” creation. It shames my feminist nature now to think about it – but it was fun at the time!

5. I’m a member of the Portland Yelp 2010 Elite, which means I get free drinks and food at some of their premiere events around town. I have a sneaking suspicion its cause one of my good friends is an elite (I’ve only done 35 reviews!) but he’s never confessed. Sadly, I have yet to go to an elite event. Hopefully this summer?

6. I’ve never lived outside of the Portland Metro area, but I’ve moved 27 times in 27 years. Quite a feat, since at least one of those locations we stayed for 8 years. Try to wrap your brain around that knowledge! I can strangely relate to Army Brats in this nature. People think I’m bizarre for not wanting to live outside of Portland (you have to, for at least one year!), but I have no desire to leave this city, except for travel. And yes, I’ve traveled to the East Coast and outside of the country twice.

7. While it was the 90s X-Men Animated Cartoon which got me passionate about collecting comic books – I was first introduced to them through my local library. I read Tin-Tin and Wonder Woman before I ever picked up an X-Men comic book. I also used to collect baseball and basketball cards, so that was the initial draw into the shop. And then the cartoon got me hooked…and the rest is history.

Thanks for the nomination Kelly, and thanks to the bloggers nominated above for writing such compelling material. And for everyone else, hope you learned something valuable. Now it’s time to get back to counting down the hours until Twilight Madness!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About tinyheroes

Mindy Crouchley is a 33 year old woman with a degree in English and Technical Writing from Portland State University. She has accumulated three+ years experience in the Marketing and Communications field - with an emphasis on creating digital media content. She has been reading comic books since she was 10 years old. She currently lives in outer southeast Portland with her spouse Dan Robertson, her baby girl, and their dog - Jabba the pug. She spends her free time devouring books, crafting cosplay, video gaming, attending comic cons, writing stories/screenplays, attending book to film adaptation club meetings, volunteering, and watching copious amounts of TV and movies.

4 responses to “Eclipse and Kreativ Blogger Award”

  1. erninlow says :

    OMG, that comic is too funny! Hope you guys have a good time. Can’t wait to see it on Thursday. Thanks for the shout out by the way! I am definitely trying to get back into my blog writing.

  2. Jen says :

    OOhh – thanks for the nomination!! Made my day, no lie.

    Also making my day? That cartoon. I think I love Jacob’s reactions the most. A seriously messed up series, but what can I say, I own them too, and have seen all the movies on opening night. Oh, the irony.

  3. Erica McGillivray says :

    Thank you so much!

    I also got hooked on comic books through the ’90s X-Men cartoon.

Leave a Reply

