San Diego Comic Con 2010: The Schedule

The entire schedule for San Diego Comic Con 2010 is now posted on the website, and Smalls and I frantically updated our Google Doc schedule all weekend until it’s in a relative semblance of order.

Diagnosis: Comic Con = Too Much Good.

There is no way humanly possible to do or see all that one would like at this event. Despite this setback, we have cobbled together what we’d like to see, and surprise, surprise, most of it isn’t about comic books at all.

No wait, why isn’t that surprising? Because Comic Con is almost not really about comic books anymore. It’s largely dominated by Film and TV, along with video games and whatever other popular culture elements I cannot fathom at the moment.

And that, sadly, is fine by me. I’ve got enough comic book goodness up here in the Pacific Northwest to sate me. What I want from SDCC, as honestly as I can describe it – is to see some celebrities up close and personal and watch exclusive clips and get some free shit and soak up some sun and record as much of it as I possibly can.

I’ll be updating often on this blog and the Tiny Heroes Twitter account for anyone who is interested.

You can also look at My Schedule (along with alternate panels) here.

Wednesday July 21, Preview Night

– Walking the exhibit floor, getting freebies from booths, etc.

Thursday July 22  – Hall H

– 10am-11am = Megamind

– 11:15-12:45 = Tron

– 1:00-2:00 = Battle Los Angeles/Salt

– 2:15-3:15 = Red

– 3:30-4:30 = Visionaries (Joss Whedon/JJ Abrams)

-4:45-5:45 = Expendables

– 6:00-7:00 = Scott Pilgrim vs. The World

– 7:30-8:30 = Dr. Horrible’s Sing-A-Long Blog

Friday July 23- Ballroom 20

– 11:30-12:30 = Caprica

– 3:00-4:00 = The Joss Whedon Experience

– 4:00-5:00 = Girls Who Kick Ass

– 5:15-6:15 = True Blood

Saturday July 24

– 11:45-1:45 = Green Lantern, Sucker Punch, Deathly Hallows

– 4:45-5:45 = Paul and Cowboys & Aliens

– 6:00-7:00 = Thor and Captain America

– 7:15-8:45 = Kevin Smith

– 10-12:00am = Kevin Smith presents “Cop Out”

Sunday July 25

– 11:00am-12:00pm = Women of Marvel

– More walking the exhibit hall floor

T

THE CONFLICTS

A personal conflict is how early to arrive on Thursday and Friday morning to line up for the designated halls/ballrooms/panels. Some people are talking camping overnight. Others are saying 5am (which is like camping overnight). I dunno…it’s my vacation. The only one I’ll have for quite a while. The idea of late nights and early mornings for five days is ghastly. I’m a nerd…but a functional one. I would like front row seats, but am I willing to sacrifice personal happiness and those of my fellow con-goers to satisfy the lust to ogle celebrities and screening footage? Perhaps not…

The only thing I’m worried about at this point is that The Walking Dead panel I REALLY want to get into is at the same time as the Caprica panel I also REALLY want to see. There might be some leeway if I can ditch out of Ballroom 20 for that hour, but the chances of doing so are pretty slim (to none). Dan and I might have to split up at this point. If we can secure seats early in the morning, then Dan can hold them while I line up for and view the precious Walking Dead.

We’ve not built in any time to get autographs. Autographs or professional pictures I am leery about. Mostly because they cost $$ and mostly because I’m feeling miserly when it comes to the convention itself. If I’m spending any $$ it will be on comic books. Dammit.

But yes, for those NOT charging for autographs or what-have-you…I would like a chance to meet them in person and chat.

OTHER THANGS:

Another lofty goal is snapping photos of comic book tattoos, which isn’t built well into my schedule at all. *le sigh* Not sure when all this madness will occur. Really thought I was going to spend more time on the convention floor.

And finally, there are a few comic book scribes and artists that don’t ever come out the Pacific Northwest way which I’d like to hit up for signatures or chatting. Most specifically Robert Kirkman.

There will also be evening parties and events…but those are looking even more hazy. I envision at least one night lounging at the hotel pool or on the beach with a mixed drink in hand. It’s a vision…

CONCLUSIONS:

Mayhaps some of you can help me with the Walking Dead vs Caprica decision? Or, if you want me to cover something in particular in Hall H and Ballroom 20 on Thurs/Fri, let me know. I’ll probably be sitting through panels for Bones and The Big Bang Theory so there might be an opportunity for pics, video and/or recaps if people REALLY want them.

And what of comic books? Anyone YOU think I should see? Something you think I should do? Let me know!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About tinyheroes

Mindy Crouchley is a 33 year old woman with a degree in English and Technical Writing from Portland State University. She has accumulated three+ years experience in the Marketing and Communications field - with an emphasis on creating digital media content. She has been reading comic books since she was 10 years old. She currently lives in outer southeast Portland with her spouse Dan Robertson, her baby girl, and their dog - Jabba the pug. She spends her free time devouring books, crafting cosplay, video gaming, attending comic cons, writing stories/screenplays, attending book to film adaptation club meetings, volunteering, and watching copious amounts of TV and movies.

11 responses to “San Diego Comic Con 2010: The Schedule”

  1. Tony says :

    I’ve been ok on most days with getting in line at 7. The only issue I’ve ever had is last year with the Twilight madness.

    I’d suggest Walking Dead. Usually when there is a panel for a show that hasn’t come out, there is a lot more given out (if you are swag-centric), and the studios put on a good show.

    Two years ago for the True Blood panel we walked out with a T-shirt, a Day Bag, and the determination that we were going to love the show.

    • tinyheroes says :

      Thank you for the advice – I’m pretty well sold on The Walking Dead panel at this point. It’s one of my favorite comic book series, and I want to catch some preview clips before I watch the show in October!

      And thanks for the tip about arriving at 7am. I’m not opposed to Twilight fans, but very glad they won’t be here this year to make my first Comic Con experience even more insane than it will be.

      Thanks again – experienced con-goers willing to share their tips and experiences are making this planning and preparing process so much easier!

  2. erninlow says :

    There is too much on the schedule! I might have to take the risk of leaving Hall H on Saturday to see Vampire Diaries and just cross my fingers I can get back in for Marvel. But then again there is the possibility of not getting into Ballroom 20! I think it is just going to come down to the day of no matter how much planning we do. I am willing to get in line early thursday morning since our plan is Hall H all day. I rather have a good seat for somewhere I know I will be all day long. Defintely more planning this weekend!

    • tinyheroes says :

      I don’t know if we’re going to be in Hall H all day Saturday or not, I REALLY want to see the Guild panel but it’s seriously going to intersect with the Joss Whedon Experience. 😦 Boo! But it’s my goal to meet The Guild folks – just watched Season 3 last night and laughed so much my throat was sore.

      I also might skip out on the morning stuff in Hall H on Thursday and only show up after the Tron panel, just soes I can wander the convention a bit and work on the Comic Book Tattoo project. I would stand in line in the morning of course and get my seat, so when I finally got back into the convention hall I could sit with both of you!

  3. Addie says :

    I need to look over the schedule myself. I don’t know how much I plan on joining you guys for – I’m not one for epic line waits, but I definitely think several of the sessions you’ve picked sound like a lot of fun, and I suppose going to a couple big sessions is part of the experience. Hope you don’t mind me (and possibly Anna) as hangers-on in light of your epic planning efforts… I’ve just been too distracted to get as pumped.

    Awesomecon is 12:30-3:30 on Saturday, and I see that you don’t have anything in your schedule for much of that time – so you should join us for a portion of it. It’s in a park that’s right next to the convention center. I may stay in my costume all day 🙂

    • tinyheroes says :

      Don’t feel like a hanger-on! I want you all to come to do what looks interesting to you.

      I know we’re pre-planning quite a bit, but a lot of this is going to come down to the day of, how we feel and all that jazz.

      You should definitely check the schedule, cause I think there’s a lot there you will like!

  4. Troy says :

    If you do not go to The Walking Dead panel I am seriously going to have to reevaluate our friendship…

    Just kidding! But really though, Caprica is cool and all, but The Walking Dead is WAY more interesting/awesome.

    You guys are going to have a blast! I am so excited for you! If you run into Felica Day, seriously give her my number and tell her to come to Alaska. She is the coolest girl around (besides you Mindy).

    • tinyheroes says :

      Heheh – I absolutely want to go but it’s totally effing with my schedule. I’m worried if I don’t get into Ballroom 20 and stay there for the day, I’m going to the miss the True Blood panel!

      But yes, my plan at the moment is to go!

      And there is totally a plan to run into Felicia Day, either at the Guild Panel, at their signing booth or at their Hammer Improv show.

  5. Michael says :

    This shit is making me mad envious. I have no more input. 😉

    • tinyheroes says :

      Dude – that’s why you should have picked up some tickets! I think some are still available on the website. 😉

      Much Love,

      Mindy C

Leave a Reply

