Phoenix Tattoo: Session Four

Went in for the fourth session of the Phoenix Tattoo with London Bellman. He worked today on the shoulder blade – the area we’ve dubbed the Supernova. We decided that some purple shading would work well and I’m so elated with how much it’s softened the upper section. I wasn’t quite sure how well a hard line would work against my skin and with the whole flow of the tattoo itself, so this is a good compromise.

Afterwards we stopped by the Yarn Garden (Local Yarn Store – LYS) to pick up some Lamb’s Pride Bulky for the Jayne hats. Unfortunately – they didn’t have yellow or orange, but I picked up the red and settled on some Cascade 128 Superwash chunky. So the next phase is to knit up the hat with the new supplies and figure out where to go from there.

The tattoo is really coming together and entering the final stages of completion. Now, if you look at it straight on, it seems done. But there’s still the inside portion to finish up, which will probably be at least another two sessions. The next one will occur on November 13th, 2010.

LINK LOVE:

Phoenix Tattoo Session One

Phoenix Tattoo Session Two

Phoenix Tattoo Session Three

Tags: , , , , ,

About tinyheroes

Mindy Crouchley is a 33 year old woman with a degree in English and Technical Writing from Portland State University. She has accumulated three+ years experience in the Marketing and Communications field - with an emphasis on creating digital media content. She has been reading comic books since she was 10 years old. She currently lives in outer southeast Portland with her spouse Dan Robertson, her baby girl, and their dog - Jabba the pug. She spends her free time devouring books, crafting cosplay, video gaming, attending comic cons, writing stories/screenplays, attending book to film adaptation club meetings, volunteering, and watching copious amounts of TV and movies.

5 responses to “Phoenix Tattoo: Session Four”

  1. Amy K. says :

    I love your tattoo! I was looking for a session five in November, but I couldn’t find one. I’d be really interested in seeing any progress on it. I do think it looks awesome like it is though!

    I have a phoenix tattoo on my left shoulder. In case you would like to see…

    http://beingamyk.blogspot.com/2010/05/i-got-my-phoenix-tattoo.html

    http://beingamyk.blogspot.com/2010/05/tattoo-pics-in-progress.html

    http://beingamyk.blogspot.com/2010/05/tattoo-touch-up-6-days-to-go.html

    Keep up the great work with the blog! 🙂

    • tinyheroes says :

      Amy – thanks so much for stopping by and sharing your pictures – that is an awesome design. I love the color scheme especially! 🙂

      Sadly, progress on the tattoo has ceased until I can find some stable employment. My current job runs through the end of August, so once I know what the future holds I’m going to get back in the chair and go under the needle again. The rest of the design is already inked on my skin in light black, so the only thing left is to add the color!

      I will post more information about the sessions when I confirm a date!

  2. Sean Dustman says :

    Great tattoo, I just finished mine and posted a time lapse video of getting it done on youtube:) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DockMdGXodw&feature=youtu.be

Leave a Reply

