Halloween 2010: Preparation

Halloween, while my favorite holiday of the year, is also kind of emotionally turbulent. Firstly, there is deciding on the costume. That’s half the battle. It becomes incredibly difficult to center on one when I have a strong desire to dress up in costume every day. In another life I was probably an actor of some sort…or a drag queen.

Which is why I have three tubs full of costume gear. Some years, it’s about accumulation. Building towards a better future costume. I’ve done a bit of that – collecting items for next year’s theme of a famous historical figure. I bought goggles, so figure that one out.

At the Star Wars vs Star Trek ride in June 2010, it became apparent that Dan and I are way over-stocked on Star Wars costuming and are severely lacking in the Star Trek department. Feeling equally, nerdily attached to both – my mission for this Halloween season has been to procure the needed items to deck us out as if we were on board the Star Ship Enterprise.

The tough choice is always between going for authenticity or  buying cheap materials and then being able to accessorize. Since I don’t have the needed sewing skills – this year it’s going to be about pulling out the right accessories, cause the bulk of the costume itself is a plain red dress. Which will most likely need to be tailored.

It looks something like this:

Needed the arm length to cover up the tattoo. Cause nothing says "Star Trek" like a half sleeve. 😛

I’ve already got some fantastic Star Trek shaped boots which I inherited from my Grandma (I love that we’re the same shoe size) and was able to purchase tights and booty shorts off the internets. I’m not exceptionally tall, but as I don’t often dress in short skirts, I get paranoid about dress length and drinking. The chances for accidentally flashing friends and family increases exponentially.

The perfect boots - pegged these for Star Trek costuming the moment I set eyes on them

Also purchased a phaser from the same website listed above for about $5.

Not exactly screen quality, but it'll do in a pinch

And a pair of Spock ears for my Pops who shaved his head and plans to buy a wig for the full Vulcan effect. My Mom is dressing up as a Science officer and Dan is representing the Command Officers with his Kirk uniform. We purchased the movie version shirt, cause he has the black shoes and pants already. Overall – this is probably the cheapest set of Halloween costumes we’ve purchased in the last four years.

Going for the gold

The other half of my family is representing Super Mario Bros (with my sister splitting the difference as Rainbow Brite) – so it’s totally a costume contest nerd battle. My Brother-in-Law is Mario, my Brother is Luigi and my Sister-in-Law is Toad. My Sister was gonna be Princess Peach, but couldn’t find the right outfit. If the kids were young enough and not so willful, we’d probably have decked them all out in Super Mario gear as well. Curse the children for having minds of their own!

Anyways – it’s gonna be epic: Star Trek vs. Super Mario Bros.

These costumes are in conjunction with us hosting an “adult” Halloween party at our house on the 30th starting at 7pm. If you are reading this and you know me or Dan  personally, you’re invited. We planned this event nearly a year ago, purchasing all the party supplies the day after Halloween. We’ve got like 10 tubs of appropriate decorations. It’s gonna be off the chain. 😉

As nerdy as it sounds – purchasing these items last night was one of the highlights of my week. The next highlight will be when the items actually arrive and I get to do a test run with them. 🙂

As a heads up to all my fellow Portlanders – there has been no word on a Portland Zombie Walk 2010 yet but Thrill The World is taking place on October 23rd. It’s usually in conjunction with the Zombie Walk, but the planning committee for that event has been…dead silent. Which is frustrating. If I had my druthers I would take over planning and set it up like one of the charity races or walks, with people registering, donating some scrilla towards an Organ bank and having a parade permit so we really could take over the streets.

Unfortunately, October 23rd, 2010 is also Make a Difference Day – a mandatory weekend day of service for me. Poo. This means I might not be able to make the Thriller event and if a Zombie Walk is planned, won’t be able to attend. All my family, including Dan, will be out of town as well…

So the costumes and party are going to be the crux of my Halloween festivities this year. Hence – the ecstatic excitement. I always love a costume which can get pimped out at multiple events. With at least three conventions lined up this year…the chances of the Star Trek duds getting trotted out more than just Halloween are pretty likely.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About tinyheroes

Mindy Crouchley is a 33 year old woman with a degree in English and Technical Writing from Portland State University. She has accumulated three+ years experience in the Marketing and Communications field - with an emphasis on creating digital media content. She has been reading comic books since she was 10 years old. She currently lives in outer southeast Portland with her spouse Dan Robertson, her baby girl, and their dog - Jabba the pug. She spends her free time devouring books, crafting cosplay, video gaming, attending comic cons, writing stories/screenplays, attending book to film adaptation club meetings, volunteering, and watching copious amounts of TV and movies.

3 responses to “Halloween 2010: Preparation”

  1. erninlow says :

    Awesome costumes! You guys always do a good job!

Leave a Reply

