X-Men Nonsense: No Patch For You

So I woke up last week with this brilliant idea to make an X-Men: First Class track jacket by obtaining an Iron-On Patch and augmenting an article of clothing. And then in the shuffle of the weekend and getting ready for the weekend, it was lost. Only to be resurrected yesterday with the idea that I could easily locate an “Xavier’s School for Gifted Youngsters” patch in Portland, Oregon.

Like THIS

Because it is, after all, Portland Oregon. The home of Dark Horse Comics and Oni Press. Brian Michael Bendis, Matt Fraction, Greg Rucka, Scott Allie. You know – it’s kind of like comic book heaven. And at all the conventions, there were patches galore. So OF COURSE one of our 10 or so comic book stores in the Portland Metro area would carry them.

Right? Right?

Dead fucking wrong. After spending an hour yesterday calling around to all of our local comic book stores, toy and hobby shops – I came up with nothing. The only place remotely close to PDX is in Everett, Washington. That’s about an hour North of Seattle. So my only alternative was to drive four hours away or try and convince someone to air-mail it to me. Neither option was feasible. For an Iron-On Patch.

Guess that means I’m not especially nerdy?

So then it occurred to my feeble, yet sometimes winning brain that I should make one of my own. I mean, I can knit. I can sew. How hard could it be to create a patch?

Turns out – not that difficult. The hardest part so far has been in obtaining a usable image of the symbol I want. Tonight I will procure the right kind of iron-on transfer paper for our Photosmart printer and test-run an old shirt. Then I will apply it to an item I intend to wear. Target has shirts for $8, so in the very least I’ll be able to sport an X-Shirt.

To avoid further embarrassments such as this in the future – Dan and I purchased THREE X-Patches from some shop in the UK. They are flying across the Atlantic Ocean and across the country as we speak. There is something exceptionally nerdy about getting packages from foreign countries. I kinda love it.

OTHER NONSENSE

The intention was to review a graphic novel I read over the weekend, but my attention is really only focused on making it through the next two days of work and preparing myself for what has been promised as the ultimate  X-Film. It’s sitting pretty right now at 92% on Rotten Tomatoes. That’s about 14 points higher than Thor. My 12-year-old girl heart is soaring.

And you should watch this stop motion animation mashing up X-Men and The Beatles:

Marvel also created a series of spoof album covers which you can find here. My most favorite of them being:

Two Iconic Covers All Mixed Up

They have more videos on their YouTube site. They remind me quite a bit of Robot Chicken, though I’ve only seen the Star Wars episode thanks to Dan.

HOLY YES! A Rogue & Gambit Thriller with narration by Stan Lee! Where has this been all my life? 

See – I can’t REALLY concentrate on anything else. Even work has become stupidly painful.

I’ll post the results of the Iron-On Patch experiment tomorrow morning. At the very worst I ruin a shirt I already intended on getting rid of. Wish me luck!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About tinyheroes

Mindy Crouchley is a 33 year old woman with a degree in English and Technical Writing from Portland State University. She has accumulated three+ years experience in the Marketing and Communications field - with an emphasis on creating digital media content. She has been reading comic books since she was 10 years old. She currently lives in outer southeast Portland with her spouse Dan Robertson, her baby girl, and their dog - Jabba the pug. She spends her free time devouring books, crafting cosplay, video gaming, attending comic cons, writing stories/screenplays, attending book to film adaptation club meetings, volunteering, and watching copious amounts of TV and movies.

3 responses to “X-Men Nonsense: No Patch For You”

  1. blade server technology dell says :

    Very helpful post man, thanks for the info.

  2. Jason says :

    Was googling Xmen patches and came across this nice read. How did the shirt turn out? 🙂

    • tinyheroes says :

      It didn’t turn out too bad. I think maybe the paper I was using was too old though, because much of the ink didn’t transfer over exactly. It ended up looking more like a really old gym shirt for the school. Since then I’ve obtained some real patches and a track jacket to adhere it to, but have been too lazy to follow through. Maybe I’ll get to that this week and post about it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

