Dear Netflix: I Ain’t Mad At Cha

Change? Shit – I guess change is good for any of us…According to Tupac. But for reals, I am one of those CRAZY FEW who haven’t huffed and puffed and cancelled my Netflix subscription in the last few days.

"It is a strange fate we should suffer so much fear and doubt...over so small a thing? Such a little thing."

Let’s take a moment, take a breath and think about it. We’ve been getting a pretty amazing deal with unlimited movies and streaming instant content for months now. Content that costs Netflix loads of money to license. Did you think the gold rush would last forever? Did you think we’d never hit peak oil? Did you think you could sleep in your Mother’s basement your ENTIRE life? Hell no. Entertainment, by and large, is not free.

So the real reason people are getting pissed is that they are no longer freeloading streaming content they probably couldn’t find anywhere on the internet unless they were stealing it. SMH. Go ahead and pirate your movie and TV, then complain about how the quality of both are balls, failing to make a connection between the two.

PERSONAL STORY: Our current rate is $12.99 for one BluRay and all the instant watch we could possibly gorge ourselves on. That would raise to around 20 bones post September. You know what? It’s a price I’m STILL willing to pay because I’ve benefited from their service for quite awhile now with no real financial investment on my part.

AND I think those of us who stick around will reap the benefits of even better streaming content in the future. Plus, I support progressive, tech savvy companies that are trying to give us what we want.

Because we do want it, right?

I do. They have a fantastic catalog of shit I could not find in any one location, probably not even in Portland. They have almost the entire series of STAR TREK for goodness sake. ALL of BSG, Buffy and Angel. STREAMING INSTANTLY. I remember the dull agony of waiting days for the next disc to arrive in the mail or *gasp* walking to the nearest video store to rent the next disc at an insane price just to get my fix for three episodes of my favorite TV show.

It used to be something ungodly like $4 to rent one DVD at Blockbuster/Hollywood Video back in the day. Now we have Red Boxes all over the place with $1 for new releases. If you like Red Box, you should probably thank Netflix. Those $1 movies could only exist without the near-elimination of the brick and mortar stores, and the instantly loathed Netflix is directly responsible for that.

People should have been a bit more pissed about the closing down of those brick and mortars. If the current economy is REALLY what folks are all frothing about. Those closures cost thousands of Americans their jobs. Probably not the best waged jobs in the country, but still… People are getting righteously angry over higher entertainment prices in a depressed economy. Where was that rage when Hollywood Video closed it’s doors and laid off it’s work force?

*crickets* Oh right, cause your ass was benefiting with unlimited movie rentals delivered to your doorstep every few days AND all the streaming content your tiny monkey heart desired. But now all that is at an end. It’s coming back around to where this situation is hurting you and putting strain on your finances. Boo hoo. If an extra $7 a month is gonna break your bank then you probably have more problems than a company which dispenses relatively cheap entertainment can resolve.

Go on Netflix, do your thing. I ain’t mad at cha. You still get my $20 a month come September. 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About tinyheroes

Mindy Crouchley is a 33 year old woman with a degree in English and Technical Writing from Portland State University. She has accumulated three+ years experience in the Marketing and Communications field - with an emphasis on creating digital media content. She has been reading comic books since she was 10 years old. She currently lives in outer southeast Portland with her spouse Dan Robertson, her baby girl, and their dog - Jabba the pug. She spends her free time devouring books, crafting cosplay, video gaming, attending comic cons, writing stories/screenplays, attending book to film adaptation club meetings, volunteering, and watching copious amounts of TV and movies.

5 responses to “Dear Netflix: I Ain’t Mad At Cha”

  1. erninlow says :

    I am going to choose streaming over discs. There are too many older shows I would like to see. I still have my red box to get movies from!

    • tinyheroes says :

      We have contemplated that move as well – but Dan is pretty adamant about Blu Ray and I’m fine with that. If we start to feel the pinch, we would cancel the disc. The streaming is a fantastic deal – I’ve discovered many wonderful old movies, TV shows, documentaries and stand-up comedians. 🙂

  2. mmcooljam says :

    Amen! I’m keeping my Netflix account, all though I may drop down to one movie at a time. People forget how much more Netflix has given us. My RSS feed is updated daily with new instant watch. I haven’t even added Star Trek to my queue yet. I think it’s because I’m holding out for DS9.

    • tinyheroes says :

      I will admit they did treat us a bit like your average drug user…in that they got us completely hooked into streaming and THEN started charging for it. But that’s probably the only way it could have worked. People would not have started watching if there was an initial fee. But now we’re jonesing for our next fix (Neftlix? A coincidence?). And I think most of us will be willing to pay for it. 🙂 Even if we have to pawn our mother’s TV.

Leave a Reply

