Tuesdays with Mindy: Travel Bucket List

A few months ago I was inspired to create a Nerd Bucket List/Personal Bucket List and invited others to do the same.

Although all my itches have seemed to disburse as of late, I still have a Travel Bucket List kicking around and it seems appropriate to unveil it now.

In my twilight years of relatively good health and some discretionary income – I want to travel as much as humanly possible so I do not regret giving up the rest of my life to children and other seemingly-foreign domestic concerns.

And these are the places I’d like to go (in very particular order):

Leaving on a jet plane.

1. Thailand (SE Asia): This is definitely happening. I’ve been waffling around about India for so long, but determined through reading various online outlets that it is not the best place to have your first real “out of country” experience in. I think India is for seasoned travelers. Thailand just feels right. Plus we have a few buddies who’ve been there before and can give us all the inside info on where to go and what to avoid. It’s cheap so that suits my miserly tendencies. I’m hoping for 3 weeks next year. *fingers crossed* for Fall of 2012!

2. Alaska: What spurred this posting was actually an invite from an Alaskan friend. Totally random, but I would definitely make it possible for us to swing this next summer. We could probably even tack on some kind of cruise from Seattle for cheaper than a flight. Have always wanted to see the Northern Lights and natural beauty this state has to offer.

3. East Coast Extravaganza: I’d like to experience NYC. And FINALLY visit my friend Kat in Pittsburgh. Hit up Boston. Basically take like two weeks or so to avail myself of all the East Coast has to offer (already been to DC, but might do it again for the hubby). Probably Spring of 2013.

4. Yellowstone National Park: Taking a week or so to travel between Oregon and Wyoming, seeing all the natural sites the earth has to offer, drinking some beers, camping in the woods, hiking around with a Baby Bjorn. No problem. Summer of 2013.

5. Hawaii: We have been invited to help celebrate my parent’s 30th wedding anniversary. Spending the Christmas holidays there, most likely for a week. I think that’s in 2014. 

*******************************************************************************************

That’s the tail end of my known and proposed traveling for the next three years. Other places I would like to go and check off my list, in no further particular order:

Italy/Greece/Turkey: A Mediterranean tour – sunny coasts, bustling markets, ancient cities. All that glorious Greek and Roman history festering just underneath the exterior of a chic metropolis. This is largely the only Europe I’m interested in.

Ireland/Scotland: I know these are expensive-ass travel destinations, but something about cold weather, warm pubs and scratchy wool sweaters calls out to me.

Peru: I want to climb Machu Picchu and bask in the healthy glow of yet another ancient culture.

Australia/New Zealand: Since time immemorial I have been in love with the idea of kangaroos, koalas and whatever other fluffy marsupials this country has to offer. Unfortunately, I can’t get over the high prices and dangerous levels of poisonous critters. The pool-dwelling Funnel Web spider is keeping me at bay and putting this low on the priority list.

Disneyworld: By the time I get back to Disney anything they should have at least built some kind of Marvel themed rides or “land” or SOMETHING. This will be when the kiddos are at least 5 or 6 so they have some memory of having been here.

Canadia: Wandering back up to Victoria and hopping over to Vancouver for a week or so would hit the spot when the dog days of summer start dragging along. Also very kid friendly.

*****************************************************************************************************

That’s about it. I don’t think my world wanderings are too far-fetched. Some are much more affordable and doable than others, especially when it involves small children. At least the plans for the next few years are laid out and I can start monitoring the bank accounts accordingly!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About tinyheroes

Mindy Crouchley is a 33 year old woman with a degree in English and Technical Writing from Portland State University. She has accumulated three+ years experience in the Marketing and Communications field - with an emphasis on creating digital media content. She has been reading comic books since she was 10 years old. She currently lives in outer southeast Portland with her spouse Dan Robertson, her baby girl, and their dog - Jabba the pug. She spends her free time devouring books, crafting cosplay, video gaming, attending comic cons, writing stories/screenplays, attending book to film adaptation club meetings, volunteering, and watching copious amounts of TV and movies.

5 responses to “Tuesdays with Mindy: Travel Bucket List”

  1. Troy says :

    Alaska Friend Here! I will post some more info for you in our google+ conversation, but as far as Northern Lights go, they are pretty rare in the summer, but they do happen if the sun decides to be a bit more active. Things we would do: Go camping in cabins, trips on the boat for fishing and whale watching, take a sea plane to Taku Lodge, TONS OF HIKING, TONS OF DRINKING, exploring old mining ruins, and the best part of all, you will be drove around the Legendary Party Bus!

  2. erninlow says :

    All of these sound fun. I would do the East Coast thing too with New York, DC and Boston on the list. The Yellowstone trip would be cool, it is a neat place. That would be a good road trip. I am still going to try to get you guys to come to Florida with me! Next time I plan on staying longer and going to different places around the state.

    • tinyheroes says :

      Harry Potter World could possibly convince me. 🙂 Once we got over to the East Coast, we could fly between the cities for pretty damn cheap – or take the train. Jet Blue has airfare between Pittsburgh, Boston and NYC at like $44 one way.

  3. Annette's Bucket List Journey says :

    I hear that Alaska is absolutely gorgeous! I was able to go to Italy last year and it was amazing, but a Mediterranean tour is definitely on my Bucket List!

Leave a Reply

