Captain America Costume For the Ladies: Phase Two

Remember the feminized version of the Captain America costume I mentioned all those months ago? It has been stalled out for sometime as I pondered and pondered what sort of jacket to purchase and couldn’t make a decision. BUT, there has been progress. The fall weather and proximity to Halloween allowed for several purchases to be made in the last few months which have added greatly to the costume.

First – the bomber jacket.

Second – the helmet.

And here’s what it looks like with all the accessories.

There’s a bit of a story here. This is NOT the World War II original helmet we had anticipated using. Yes, there was some progress on that front, I did sand it down to the surface and fully intended to paint it.

But in the last few months or so, my buddy has been working on finishing some testing to be certified in his career field. And our mutual friend has been in the hospital, so it hasn’t  been the right time to ask  for a huge favor like helping me out with painting the helmets and constructing the shield.

So instead of moving forward with the helmets, I just planned to drop the costume altogether and sell off the pieces I’d acquired through E-Bay or Craigslist or something. Sad times.

AND THEN – I spotted a WWII helmet at the costume shop while spying for Brienne of Tarth pieces. The inspiration was on me again (especially since the jacket had been procured).

I scooped up a helmet last week. Two things – it’s much better suited to my small head AND not nearly as heavy as the metal version. Though the metal version WOULD be more authentic. Still have plans to complete the real helmets, but I wanted them to be perfect. They shall be mounted and displayed in our house. 🙂

Boots have also been procured by my Ma. They are doubling for her Katniss Everdeen costume but they fit my Cap outfit just as well. Though, I will have to forego the spats, which is a bummer. They are just too damn small to fit over the boots.

Lastly – gonna pick up some white tights or leggings and a shield. The skirt is short, ya’ll. And if I’m gonna Cosplay this weekend (we’re still on the fence about Geek Girl Con) I’m gonna want a skirt. It’s finally Autumn here in the great Pacific Northwest.

Here’s a little video I put together with pics of the helmet painting process.

Tags: , , , ,

About tinyheroes

Mindy Crouchley is a 33 year old woman with a degree in English and Technical Writing from Portland State University. She has accumulated three+ years experience in the Marketing and Communications field - with an emphasis on creating digital media content. She has been reading comic books since she was 10 years old. She currently lives in outer southeast Portland with her spouse Dan Robertson, her baby girl, and their dog - Jabba the pug. She spends her free time devouring books, crafting cosplay, video gaming, attending comic cons, writing stories/screenplays, attending book to film adaptation club meetings, volunteering, and watching copious amounts of TV and movies.

Leave a Reply

