Thor Costume and Going Digital

Need someone to talk me down from this ledge. REALLY wanting to purchase a female Thor costume. Buycostumes.com dropped a lovely 25% off coupon in my inbox this morning and I’ve been agonizing over the decision ever since.

The Thor movie is one of my favorites, and I am tempted to start-up a subscription for X-Men and Thor comics. Just get back into comic books again period.

Therefore I need some input on a few things:

1. Should I purchase this costumehelmet and hammer?

Or no? I have until the end of this business day before the coupon expires, and then it probably wouldn’t be worth it. What would be worth it? Stumbling around drunk in a wicked cool Norse god helmet. 

A Lady Loki outfit is also quite tantalizing. But they don’t have anything pre-fabricated. And can you imagine those horns around drunk people? Dangerous, dangerous stuff. Even in a regular comic book convention, I would be afraid of knocking people over all the time.

2. Should I subscribe to superhero comic books again? I love my local comic book shop, but I’m just not getting out there often enough to empty my box properly. Then it expires and I feel guilty and never open a box at that shop again. To save all the embarrassment and heart-ache, why not just subscribe to the monthly shipping services? It’s around $30 bucks a title for the year. The whole year! I drop that much each time I enter the comic book store.

The titles I would add:

– X-Factor

– X-Men 

– X-Men Legacy

– The Mighty Thor

Whoa. That’s actually quite a few titles. Damn the X-franchise! I’m sure there’s one or two of those I could skim off the top. Right? Or should I be adding X-Force? I never did like X-Force. 😛

3. What other titles should I pick up? I was partial to Madame Xanadu as an ongoing monthly, and I’d really started to get into Scarlet and Stumptown. The Walking Dead was a regular, but I’m so far behind now it’ll take a while to get caught back up. Other than that – I feel like I’ll probably be completely starting over with some new-ish books on my plate. I know the independent fare won’t be available via subscription, and I’ll have to cart my lazy ass into the comic book shops to purchase them.

Bah. Maybe I should just skip the damn subscriptions then? Wait until they come out in collected editions? Open up another box with real intent to visit monthly and purchase? It seems like a lot of upfront money to drop on subscriptions, but I don’t see any other way of books regularly getting into my hands.

4. What about purchasing comic books digitally? We have a color Nook kicking around. That would be fine for regular issues. It would also make the TPB and graphic novel purchases much more selective – only those for display and signing purposes. I’ve started doing that with regular books.

Honestly – the long boxes are shoved in a closet. I never did figure out an elegant way to display them without taking up a huge chunk of my house. I’ve debated trimming the fat and condensing the collection quite a bit, into something a bit more manageable and cohesive.

It appears that most major publishers like Dark Horse, Marvel, Image and Vertigo (I don’t collect DC titles) have digital options, but Oni Press does not. Most of what I get from Oni is TPB or book form anyway. So…there’s that. And lots of other books that are way independent I’ll pick up at conventions or events around town. Like self published books. I’m thinking this could work…but would like to hear from others who’ve had more experience in the digital world.

Tough questions to ponder on a quiet Wednesday afternoon. Send some thoughts my way. 🙂 While you’re thinking about it – check out this video of the entire Avengers movie panel from New York City Comic Con 2011. *swoon* Doesn’t contain any sneak peek footage, but gives you all the Q&A. 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About tinyheroes

Mindy Crouchley is a 33 year old woman with a degree in English and Technical Writing from Portland State University. She has accumulated three+ years experience in the Marketing and Communications field - with an emphasis on creating digital media content. She has been reading comic books since she was 10 years old. She currently lives in outer southeast Portland with her spouse Dan Robertson, her baby girl, and their dog - Jabba the pug. She spends her free time devouring books, crafting cosplay, video gaming, attending comic cons, writing stories/screenplays, attending book to film adaptation club meetings, volunteering, and watching copious amounts of TV and movies.

Leave a Reply

