Nanowrimo 2011: Week Three

This post is coming a little later in the day because I spent the morning desperately plugging away at the keyboard and getting caught up, just so I would have some measurable progress to report here. That, and the muse has found me for the moment. Probably because I’m trying to avoid piles of homework and cleaning off the back deck for Thanksgiving tomorrow. Probably. It’s amazing the things you can accomplish when you’re trying to do something else.

Here is my paltry gain for the week (much of in the last 24 hours): 40,113 words

Page count: 77 pages (in a Google Doc, 12 point font and regular spacing)

But seriously – the last week was horrendous in terms of distractions. My favorite video game series of all time: Assassin’s Creed released another entry. I babysat my nephew for about 10 hours. I participated in a Twilight marathon with my mother. The Breaking Dawn flick came out. Started my internship. Watched Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows 2 with my BFF. Saturday was a memorial service for my Great Aunt in Tacoma, then dinner with relatives and a movie following.

Sunday I had enough time to catch my breath, do holiday related shopping, skip a babyshower and complete three classes worth of assignments. Monday was deep cleaning the house for Thanksgiving and Dreamweaver homework. Yesterday I plugged away at nearly 3,000 words and went to the gym.

Seriously folks – how is it possible for writer’s to write?

I mean really. I’m asking my writer friends out here. Unless I’ve created something for a class, and back when I was like 10-15 I had all the time in the world then I would produce results. Now, between school and an internship (which will one day give way to WORK), occasionally babysitting, hitting up the gym, cleaning, couponing, shopping, running errands…how do you do it?

And when do you do it? There have been several times over the last three weeks when I was knee-deep and buried in the story, but someone showed up at the door with good social intentions and I had to dump all my motivation and inspiration to attend to…life.

Or maybe it’s just my unique position at the moment – with very little framework to my days and lots of work to do that must be tackled merely on my own motivation. By the end of the day, I am looking at this story like…oh, you again huh? What do you want?

INTERESTING PLOT DEVELOPMENTS

I killed off one my characters. One that I didn’t like – he sort of popped up out of nowhere. And once he was imbedded in the story, it made sense. But I didn’t like him. So he’s dead now, for plot-service purposes. Also because I wanted him dead.

Do you ever do that? Just kill off a character because you don’t like them? I’m usually very fond of even the bad guys I create and work hard not to kill anyone. It appears I’ve turned a corner in my writing however.

FINAL WORDS

I’m moving into the final stretch. I like where things are going. I think I’ll be able to reach at least the 50,000 word goal and maybe even my 60,000 personal goal. Perhaps all the activity of the last week was a good thing, because I was able to gestate on where the plot is going, and go back to rework some things. Now that the bad is temporarily fixed, my mind can move forward into wrapping up everything in a nice, neat little bow and squeezing out a decent ending.

Check back here next week for the results!

OTHER NANOWRIMO 2011 RELATED POSTS:

Nanowrimo 2011: Week Two NOW w/ Writer’s Block Tips!

Nanowrimo 2011: Week One

Preparing for National Novel Writing Month 2011

Tags: ,

About tinyheroes

Mindy Crouchley is a 33 year old woman with a degree in English and Technical Writing from Portland State University. She has accumulated three+ years experience in the Marketing and Communications field - with an emphasis on creating digital media content. She has been reading comic books since she was 10 years old. She currently lives in outer southeast Portland with her spouse Dan Robertson, her baby girl, and their dog - Jabba the pug. She spends her free time devouring books, crafting cosplay, video gaming, attending comic cons, writing stories/screenplays, attending book to film adaptation club meetings, volunteering, and watching copious amounts of TV and movies.

6 responses to “Nanowrimo 2011: Week Three”

  1. Dan Robertson says :

    Remember: A WRITER WRITES

  2. Evelyn N. Alfred says :

    I don’t know how writers do it, unless they do it full time.

    • tinyheroes says :

      Me either – although I suppose most writers approach the idea of writing a novel in a month with some kind of outline, rather than a few scenes and a murky idea of where the story is going. πŸ™‚

  3. Megan Cline says :

    I took a capstone where we were required to write for an hour a day on any project we were working on. That really helped me get into a groove of writing daily. I’ve found I write best at night when I have no where to be or no chores to do. Some days I have to really push for an hour and some days I just don’t make it to an hour but it’s a good target to have. A lot of times, once I get started, I find it hard to stop. Also, I give myself permission to write crap–regardless of the form. My draft of both of my novels are pure crap right now but I look forward to rewriting them to make them awesome.

    • tinyheroes says :

      I do agree that it’s hard to give yourself permission to write crap. I read everything aloud to my spouse and sometimes it’s completely cringe-worthy stuff, to the point where I’m like: “Please don’t make me read this, it’s awful.” But I wouldn’t necessarily get that impression if I was just reading it on the screen to myself. So important note – bring other people in on the editing process!

      But yes, I am also looking forward to rewriting or adding more to huge chunks of this book. And I have a sneaking suspicion I won’t be able to finish the story in just 50,000 words. So I think that’s a good sign too. πŸ™‚

      What a cool Capstone project, BTW!

Leave a Reply

