Five Favorite Nerd Moments of 2011

It’s the last week of 2011, and therefore a time to look back at the year and make lists. And who doesn’t love a Top 5 Countdown? This particular list is going to focus on those amazing nerdy moments which transpired in my 2011 world.

NERD MOMENT #5: 

Game of Thrones

Although technically my introduction to this series took place in 2010 at around 6am in a Portland airport, I didn’t really fall in love until the television series came out. And then again when my spouse got hooked into it. And then again when I discovered the bromance of sorts between Brienne of Tarth and Jaime Lannister. And while I’m currently stuck at the mid-point in Book 3, I know I’ll get through all the rest of the material probably before the next book comes out.

Yes – the series is problematic in terms of race and gender. The violence against women in the book and the ridiculous sexploits on the show are a bit off-putting. But I’m hopelessly in love with A Song of Ice and Fire. Hopeless.

Read Game of Thrones related content here. And here.

Game of Thrones Costumes

NERD MOMENT #4: 

Captain America

The movie and the costume it took me a year to put together. I was very skeptical about the film and remember having arguments with several people because of all the CGI and how much it tried to cram into two hours (don’t they all?) but by the time I finished the costume and re-watched the film, I was pretty much in love. It’s sappy and romantic and hits just the right tone.

Read Captain America related content here. And here.

Captain America Costume

NERD MOMENT #3: 

Thor

I will accept no other arguments that Thor, the movie, is feminist. And after battling for years against tripe that features only one woman in a predominantly male cast, or a chick with little else going on in her life but servicing our hero…this was a…”god send.” LOL, cause Thor is a God. Also – the film is riddled with fantastic humor, pretty rainbow bridges and space scenes. This has become my new favorite comic book movie to pop in the background while I’m doing anything next to the TV. The fact that the director of Game of Thrones is helming the second movie is decidedly not pleasing. At least I got one! A new favorite. Check out the review here.

NERD MOMENT #2: 

Emerald City Comic Con 2011

Our second convention with Smalls. My first convention with my parents who even showed up dressed  in Star Trek costumes to meet William Shatner. OMG – The BSG exhibit at the Science Fiction museum! Getting a Mayor Hundred sketch from Tony Harris! Unveiling the Left 4 Dead Costumes! Raspberry Doughnuts at Top Pot!

This convention was our biggest one this year (aside from the always enjoyable Stumptown Comics Fest) and had the best company. Can’t wait for Emerald Con 2012. Hope to see some of you there?

NERD MOMENT #1:  

Assassin’s Creed Revelations

I spent 14 hours one day playing this video game. It is probably one of my favorite series of all times. I loved all the Altair side stories and old Ezio’s mannerisms. I loved the hook blade! I loved Constantinople. And the trailer? Best video game trailer I’ve seen. Not that I watch many – but Dan and I were obsessed with this song for a few months.

And the “Literal Trailer” is just as good as well.

The video game series has now officially covered at least two countries I hope to travel to someday (Italy, Turkey). Now if they could just work Greece in there somehow. I will seriously take a European tour of Assassin’s Creed locales. Why isn’t this a thing? Someone make this a thing!

Runners Up Include:

Fringe

A friend got me hooked on this series and I proceeded to pay it forward by loaning my three seasons out to my parents, my sister and brother and Dan’s mom and brother. Recruited six more people into the fandom that way. We have so far been unsuccessful in this effort with Battlestar Galactica though. What is it about that series? Fringe is easy to infect people with. BSG, not so much. 😛

Harry Potter

The end of it all. I adored going to the final film showing with friends and family. Even scored a HUGE cardboard cut out of Harry himself (*forever tears because I missed out on the Ron standee*). It was such a fantastic ending to a great series.

X-Men First Class

It was a passable flick with a lot of glaring problems. The chemistry between Magneto and Xavier though? Spot on. I’m definitely on board with the huge population of fan-girls that ship these two together. Yeah. I just wish it hadn’t been so Mad-Men-swinging-60s-celebrate-oppressing-women. Yegh. Other than that, it worked on most other levels. You can read my review here.

So, that’s it. There were tons of other great nerd moments (don’t get me wrong!) but these fandoms, films and events really stood out to me. 

What were your Top 5 Nerd Moments of 2011?

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About tinyheroes

Mindy Crouchley is a 33 year old woman with a degree in English and Technical Writing from Portland State University. She has accumulated three+ years experience in the Marketing and Communications field - with an emphasis on creating digital media content. She has been reading comic books since she was 10 years old. She currently lives in outer southeast Portland with her spouse Dan Robertson, her baby girl, and their dog - Jabba the pug. She spends her free time devouring books, crafting cosplay, video gaming, attending comic cons, writing stories/screenplays, attending book to film adaptation club meetings, volunteering, and watching copious amounts of TV and movies.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Five Favorite Personal Moments of 2011 « Melinda Not Mindy - December 30, 2011

Leave a Reply

