Oscar Nominations 2011

These lame duck nominations serve to highlight that 2011 really was a BORING year in film. A non-fiction flick about baseball? Yawn. A boy and his war horse? Snooze. George Clooney being an asshole in Hawaii? Blah.

Oscar StatuesAlthough movies about women rose to meteroic box office success via Bridesmaids and The Help, they certainly aren’t represented in the Best Picture nominations. There is only one movie on the Best Picture roster that would pass the Bechdel test for women or race. It manages to accomplish both. As far as I’m concerned, it’s the only movie I’m even pulling for. Yeah, I’m talking about The Help.

Usually this time of year I’m in a mad scramble to view all the Oscar nominated films before the big day, but I can predict from this vantage point who is going to win based on all the politicking that comprises these awards ceremonies. Please be advised, these are my knee jerk reactions.

Best Picture: The Artist (Hollywood is predictable in it’s love and lavishing of praise upon feel good “foreign” films)

Best Director: Martin Scorsese – Hugo

Best Actor: Brad Pitt – Moneyball

Best Actress: Michelle Williams – My Week with Marilyn

Best Supporting Actor: Jonah Hill – Moneyball

Best Supporting Actress: Octavia Spencer – The Help

Best Original Screenplay: Bridesmaids – Annie Mumolo, Kristen Wiig

Best Adapted Screenplay: The Ides of March – George Clooney

Perhaps I will watch The Artist, which is the only flick with the potential to shake up the predictable picks. Also, I reserve the right to completely change my mind by Oscar air date, so friends and family who usually bet in our Oscar party pool, don’t go getting any ideas.

My favorite films of the year were all comic book or science fiction related, and those will never be deemed worthy of Oscar material. No bitterness here, right? Really, there is a bit of bitterness. I don’t expect anyone to give loads of love and credit to all my super nerdy interests. But I hoped for at least a nod to Young Adult.

Is anyone else over the George Clooney and Brad Pitt bromance? Clooney’s acceptance speech at the Golden Globes was kinda barfy. We get that you guys are the hottest thang in Hollywood right now. Good work.

There is a twinge of sadness for the dudes who got shut out. What about Leonardo DiCaprio who’s been in a string of good films in the last five or six years while going completely un-noticed? Or Ryan Gosling who has busted his butt in independent flicks and whom you couldn’t possibly ignore this year if you were living or breathing in the world. Also Michael Fassbender, my favorite sharp tooth Magneto who stole the show in X-Men, Jane Eyre and apparently flopped his wang out for Shame (on my “to see” list). Poor guys. Don’t you know Clooney and Pitt will never gracefully share the spotlight? They are like the Jay-Z of their medium. While they exist, very few others can rise in the game, unless given the blessings of royalty. Even then, it’s tough competition.

Am I wrong in these assertions? What are your Oscar picks? 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About tinyheroes

Mindy Crouchley is a 33 year old woman with a degree in English and Technical Writing from Portland State University. She has accumulated three+ years experience in the Marketing and Communications field - with an emphasis on creating digital media content. She has been reading comic books since she was 10 years old. She currently lives in outer southeast Portland with her spouse Dan Robertson, her baby girl, and their dog - Jabba the pug. She spends her free time devouring books, crafting cosplay, video gaming, attending comic cons, writing stories/screenplays, attending book to film adaptation club meetings, volunteering, and watching copious amounts of TV and movies.

7 responses to “Oscar Nominations 2011”

  1. erninlow says :

    Ugh, it sure was a boring year. I will be stumped when it comes to our betting time. I have seen only three of the best pictures so it definitely has been a slow season cause usually I have seen most.

    • tinyheroes says :

      I would like to see Hugo and The Artist. The George Clooney one I’ll pass on. I might go for Moneyball based on my fascination with Jonah Hill…but Brad Pitt just rubs me the wrong way lately. I dunno. I’d like to see My Week with Marilyn.

      • erninlow says :

        Hugo was good, so was Moneyball. I want to see the Descendants.

        • tinyheroes says :

          I dunno if I can take much more of smug Clooney. Wasn’t there a film we all wanted to watch together? I think it was Warrior. That was completely overlooked as well. 😛 Tom Hardy and that Captain Kirk kid are gonna be in a flick together with Reese Witherspoon. It looks dumb, but I wanna see it. I think that’s a girl’s night out adventure. I can’t imagine Dan or Sam being interested in that. At all. 🙂

  2. Dan says :

    2012 has Hunger Games, Batman AND Hobbit — and something call AVENGERS, there are so many good films this year I should buy stock in Regal.. This year will be a win.

    • tinyheroes says :

      Yeah, but how many of those will win an Oscar? The Oscars are usually filled with pretentious garbage, but this year it just all looks like garbage. Kinda sad Hollywood. Too focused on 3D to make something worthwhile on 2D.

  3. Peter says :

    I was so disappointed with everything I saw this year. Probably the best thing was “Meek’s Cutoff” (which features strong female characters, but most likely does NOT pass the Bechdel test). I was scorned by Moneyball more than anything else, due to it bringing together my two great secret loves (baseball and statistics), and then being about neither. I couldn’t bring myself to see The Help after hearing about the pie. Everything else just was so *blah* and uninspired (except Hanna, that was great). Also, now Best Animation to Tintin? Seriously?

Leave a Reply

