Thursdays with Mindy: Meeting Celebrities

Out of all my personal pitfalls and life embarrassments – meeting celebrities tops the charts. This happened way early in my convention days, my first convention point of fact when one of the artists of the X-Men books was signing and we were standing in line to meet him. 

Meeting Felicia Day

Notice the dazed, slightly confused but elated look on my face. I've been touched by Captain Hammer, Codex, and Helo in my lifetime. *swoon*

I was superbly horrified that I had nothing to say to him aside from the usual “I really like your art.” It didn’t help that at the time I thought his art was crap – some of my least favorite since I’d started reading the series. My brother and best friend were there to also get their books signed and were totally ecstatic and completely cool about it. I felt like I was sweating buckets and dying little small deaths as we were inching closer and closer to him.

And then – I totally bolted from the line. I refused to hand him my book. My mother, being the kind soul she was, stuck it out. I still have that book and I still wince every time I look at it. Not just cause the art is crap (it is) but also because it’s been the standard, basic formula for meeting famous people from then on out.

My mind goes blank, my hands sweat profusely, a high, giddy octave emerges from my vocal chords.

This isn’t always the case. During my brush with Bruce Campbell I was completely zoned out and he was the one to initiate conversation. He even made some comment to the point of, “you don’t even care who I am do you?” To which I quickly assured him I did – but was here to support my husband who was the bigger fan. Sorry people, I just never caught Evil Dead fever. So yes, I can be cool and casual when it comes to people I am not over-the-moon for.

But when I meet people whom I admire, especially writers and actors, my ability to communicate properly shuts down. It’s frustrating. My latest travesty was with Charlaine Harris, the author of the Sookie Stackhouse novels. Yeah. I vaguely remember muttering some comment which sounded in my mind like “thanks for writing a strong female character” but what I said made her give me the side eye and then I was rushed away, clutching at my hard bound book with a death grip, pulse racing.

At age 29, I should be able to not dork up my shining moments with the actor and actress who played two of my favorite characters of all time, Commander William Adama (Edward James Olmos) and Kara Starbuck Thrace (Katee Sackhoff). But I just know I will. It will be a travesty. Or will it?

The first step I realized was to reinvest some time and energy in Twitter and learn a bit about what the actors are doing in their current careers and personal lives. Cause that’s where celebrities go to talk about that stuff. Duh. Obviously. Through this glorious medium I learned Sackhoff will be joining the cast of the Pitch Black sequel, starring alongside delicious Vin Diesel. Oh holy lord, a topic of conversation! How glorious is that? Yes, I do actually like the Pitch Black/Chronicles of Riddick flicks. Another guilty film pleasure.

Edward James Olmos is just truly an awesome liberal and always supporting important causes, so there’s that to fall back on. 🙂 In other words, I will have something positive to mention alongside the drooling, panting and near seizing fits that will no doubt transpire during pictures/autographs.

Now the real question becomes, do I wear my BSG duds or no?

The other big opportunity to meet famous people this weekend seems like a dim promise. I highly doubt we will be the first 100 people in line at the Hunger Games event to meet Jennifer Lawrence or Josh Hutcherson at the University Village Mall Q&A, so I haven’t even prepare for that eventuality. We do plan on attending the Q&A session however, so that should be quite engaging. As long as celebrities and I are separated by several feet of flesh, everything should be fine. It’s the up close and personal contact which is no bueno. 😛

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About tinyheroes

Mindy Crouchley is a 33 year old woman with a degree in English and Technical Writing from Portland State University. She has accumulated three+ years experience in the Marketing and Communications field - with an emphasis on creating digital media content. She has been reading comic books since she was 10 years old. She currently lives in outer southeast Portland with her spouse Dan Robertson, her baby girl, and their dog - Jabba the pug. She spends her free time devouring books, crafting cosplay, video gaming, attending comic cons, writing stories/screenplays, attending book to film adaptation club meetings, volunteering, and watching copious amounts of TV and movies.

4 responses to “Thursdays with Mindy: Meeting Celebrities”

  1. erninlow says :

    I think in these situations you think you are going to be cool about it, but then it all goes downhill when it actually happens! I remember muttering something about Lost to Ian Somerhalder and when he actually talked back to me I didn’t know what to do!

    • tinyheroes says :

      I know – I feel like I have the first part of the conversation under control…but what if they reply!? Good thing most actors are gregarious and good with fans. Except for the jerks. 😉

  2. Troy Van Willis says :

    I was an extra on Grimm yesterday and I met the dude who plays Angle on Dexter. He asked me for a cough drop.

Leave a Reply

