NaNoWriMo 2013: Week Two

2013-Participant-Facebook-Cover

ACHIEVEMENTS UNLOCKED: 

Hit the weekend full throttle, with copious hours stretching before me to achieve the word count goal.

And the weekend hit back.

Last Saturday I was curled up with a kidney stone, hopped up on drugs for the pain. Not so fun, that. Somehow I managed to slog through 5,000 words, even totally doped up. And watched Thor: Dark World again. Because Thor.

THEN on Sunday, I had such best intention. SUCH BEST INTENTIONS.

But after running a few errands and settling in to bang away at the keyboard… all hell broke loose.

My mom came in to ask a question. My SIL showed up to collect a check and borrow a video game. My BIL showed up to collect a game system and borrow a video game.

Dan and our friend Griggs returned from the store and we snacked and chatted before they started armor building.

My buddy Smalls came over to drop off a doughnut and collect a mix CD.

At some point it became apparent I would get absolutely ZERO writing done that day (to be fair, I think one sentence was logged) and I just gave up and started checking some of the other items off the To Do List. Took down the Halloween decorations. Photo-shopped some pictures for a work project. Cleaned up the place a bit. Attempted to wrangle leaves off the walkway.

Basically – a bunch of crap I wouldn’t normally be compelled to do, but nothing makes you more productive than procrastination. Especially when it comes to writing.

By the time Monday hit, I was feeling really low because of the low word count and my general ineffectiveness with the 1up weekend.

But Huzzah!! Even with a side-trip for lunch with my sister, still managed to crank out another 5k, neatly wrapping up the action sequence I was so reluctant to start and barreling into a whole new chapter with added mystery and intrigue. Not giving any details on that one. 😉

Finished up Chapter Seven and added a few bits to the beginning of Chapter 8 on the bus this morning. More personal and professional drama surfaced this week, plus evenings filled with a return to the exercise/gym routine and a work side project. Leading a double life of a novelist and a regular person is steadily depleting my mana.

Luckily our out-of town adventure this weekend consists of staying at a place with views of nature and electrical outlets.

QUEST FOR THIS WEEK: 

Power through as much as I can. At the moment, the 100,000 word goal seems pretty far out of reach, so I’m going to settle for 80,000 for the month and see if I can’t hit that mark a little easier.

Current Word Count: 56,050

REVISED GOAL: 80,000 words for the month

GOAL FOR THE WEEK: 66,050, which means writing 10k for the week. This seems manageable. This seems so much more manageable. 🙂

About tinyheroes

Mindy Crouchley is a 33 year old woman with a degree in English and Technical Writing from Portland State University. She has accumulated three+ years experience in the Marketing and Communications field - with an emphasis on creating digital media content. She has been reading comic books since she was 10 years old. She currently lives in outer southeast Portland with her spouse Dan Robertson, her baby girl, and their dog - Jabba the pug. She spends her free time devouring books, crafting cosplay, video gaming, attending comic cons, writing stories/screenplays, attending book to film adaptation club meetings, volunteering, and watching copious amounts of TV and movies.

Leave a comment